Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
With a couple of modifications this is total 5 star bread. I followed the other reviewers advice and used applesauce instead of shortening. I had some so why not cut the fat?! I also used 1 full cup of frozen (not thawed) blueberries. Any fruit bread I make gets a dash of cinnamon, fresh nutmeg and vanilla -just a dash of each. I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar also (personal preference) I baked it in 3 mini loaf pans on a cookie sheet and it still took almost the full cook time. Crunchy on the outside and moist and yummy in the center! I don't think I would try this bread in a large bread pan, it may have never been cooked through. My 10 year old ate almost a full tin by himself! Perfect for a Sunday morning treat! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Very moist! I used the applesauce in place of the shortening and decreased the sugar as suggested previously. I also used 1 cup frozen blueberries. I omitted the nuts and added some more oatmeal. My husband and I really like it especially since it is so healthy and delicious at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
I made this while caring for my 5 week old AND making dinner, it was VERY simple! I used frozen (no need to thaw) blueberries (about 1 cup) and put them in lined muffun tins to decrease the baking time (around 25 min). They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
So I prob would give it 5 stars if I hadn't substituted all of the shortening w/apple sauce as other reviewers did. Next time I'll try half apple sauce, half oil - the sauce makes the crust a bit rubbery rather than classic crunchy, it also changes the flavor some. I was trying to be healthy, but some things aren't worth it. I'm going to make it again, and I do think putting the oil back into it will make it an exceptional bread. Very hearty. The only other change I made - well my husband got blackberries instead of blueberries so banana blackberry quick bread it was. I was hestitant at first but the berries held together and came out great in the bread. A nice variation. As for my husband, we are going to go to the grocery store together and review our fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I have finally found the most far out and fantastic banana/blueberry bread recipe ever created. I'm not worthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
My family loved it. I liked the way the ingredients were combined. It seemed lighter than other banana breads, and I like that. I put in a bit less sugar, as my bananas were rather sweet. Thank you for this neat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I've tried several banana bread recipes and this is by far the best! I am not a big fan of banana bread (my husband loves it and I can't bear to let bananas go to waste.) I made a couple of modifications: I doubled the blueberries (fresh), added half t vanilla, used half brown sugar and half white sugar, walnuts (no pecans on hand), used butter in place of shortening, & replaced half the butter with applesauce. I also used quick cooking Irish oatmeal instead of rolled oats...not sure if that makes a difference in flavor in a bread but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
WOW! This was one of the best breads I've ever had! It was moist and delicious, all the ingredients blended together so nicely. We used butter flavored Crisco for te shortening, which worked well. The bread lasted less than a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
My whole neighborhood is raving about this now, it is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Completely delicious over the top and very easy to make. I decided to make them into muffins instead of a loaf and got 22 of them out of this recipe. I didn't have the quick cooking oats so I used the regular and whizzed them in my mini food processor for a second or two, not to make powder, but a really rough chop. Using others suggestions, I did 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I used 3 smaller sized bananas to get to 1 C, and upped the blueberries to 3/4 C. I also added 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon only because I knew I would want these tastes in my quick bread. I sprinkled a smidgen of raw sugar on top of each prior to baking. Baking time was 22 minutes and they were a very nice and yummy change from either a blueberry muffin or banana bread. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States