Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
this was really good, though i took so many liberties, largely due to what i had on hand, that i'm going to end up sounding like those "reviewers" that i hate. i had never substituted applesauce for fat before, but thought this might be a good place to try; i doubled the blueberries (i'm not a blueberry fan, but even i could tell that 1/2 c. was not enough!); i put regular rolled outs in the mini processor and chopped them fine; i had ground pecans leftover, so i used them; i used 1/2 brown sugar; high altitude adjustments of 2 T flour and 3/4 t. soda; 12 mini loaf pans for 25 min. 2 1/2 bananas was about right for 1 c. mashed. i'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
With additional blueberries and brown bananas, this is one flavorful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by may2mac
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made a slight change and replaced the shortening with 4 oz of applesauce and 2 TBSP of shortening. It was slightly on the dry side, but it seemed to have overcooked a bit. My other criticism is that it did not have a strong banana or blueberry flavor. If I make this again I might add more banana. I think it is worth tinkering with a bit to find the right mix of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good bread. It is a dense bread with rich flavor. I doubled the recipe and it worked out just fine. I used frozen blueberries (1-1/2 cups) and an extra 2 TBSP flour for high altitude - we're at 5200 feet - and lowered the temp to 325 half way through the baking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I read someone else said this was a very moist bread. I actually had a bit of trouble getting it baked just right, I found the outside was getting a bit dark while the toothpick was still coming out gooey. Delicious taste though! I am a novice baker, so it may have just been my technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Dargatz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
SO good, if I could rate more than 5 stars, I would. Sub'd applesauce for the shortening, used 1 cup of fresh blueberries, added 1 t vanilla, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, sub'd 3/4 cup white & 3/4 cup brown sugar for the 1 cup white, and used 4 small bananas. Baked 4 mini loaves for 40 mins, should have done at least 45, but it didn't change the taste at all -- and the taste is phenomenal! I'm loving this as an afternoon snack for my boys - they like the sweetness of it, and I like they are getting whole oats & fruit & don't realize it. :) ETA/9/27 - Made this again today b/c I had more bananas & couple of apples that I needed to use - it was fantastic w/ apples in place of the blueberries, as well! Definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Really nice and easy quick bread! I used a cup of fresh blueberries and omitted the pecans (allergies) to good effect. I liberally sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar, which made a nice crunchy finish. Give this one a try and it will become a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delicious! And even a little healthy (I took the suggestions of others and substituted applesauce). PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, as I still prefer the taste and texture of baked goods made with shortening. It was deeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Another good way to use up some blueberries. This bread is a little heavier than other fruit breads due to the oatmeal. It is moist and a great addition to any meal. I like it best toasted for breakfast. I made it as written and made 3 mini loaves rather than 1 big loaf. Thanks MARBALET for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States