Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Not that spectacular, really. I used applesauce instead of shortening, as others suggested, and the edges were rubbery. I did not need any extra cook time, as 55 mins at 350 was almost too long for the loaf- I removed it right from the pan so it would not continue to cook the extra 10 minutes suggested. I was disappointed, definitely have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is the recipe I use EVERYTIME for banana bread!!! Going on... at least 15 times. There are only two alternatives to this I toy around with - I'll add Ocean Spray Blueberries instead of fresh (it makes it taste fresher longer) & instead of using flour to prepare the pan, I'll use cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe with a few modifications! I subbed half a cup of apple sauce plus 1/4 cup oil for the shortening and I used rolled oats because thats all I had on hand and this came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Made this will additional blueberries and half and half white and brown sugar. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is good and easy. I used oil instead of shortening and didn't use my electric mixer. I used 1 c. blueberries b/c they needed to be used. Added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla, and used half brown sugar. Mine took a about 65 or 70 minutes to bake through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was so good. Very moist and tasty. I made these into muffins. I got 14 muffins and I baked them for about 18-19 minutes. I sprinkled each muffin with cinnamon/sugar mixture before baking - not because they needed it, but because I love it. I also used oil instead of shortening because I do not use it. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Good! Made one batch as muffins, baked for 23 min. Tried sub. Applesauce for shortening in a loaf, I prefer with shortening, but not bad! Never tried with pecans, just doubled the blueberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Like many other people, I made some changes: 3/4 cup fresh blueberries, 1.5 cup flour, 1/4 cup oatbran, 1/4 cup margarine, 1/4 cup pumpkin puree, 2/3 cup sugar, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp banana flavoring. Made 16 muffins. Baked 20 minutes. Very tasty. Banana flavoring brings out the taste of the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
this was really good, though i took so many liberties, largely due to what i had on hand, that i'm going to end up sounding like those "reviewers" that i hate. i had never substituted applesauce for fat before, but thought this might be a good place to try; i doubled the blueberries (i'm not a blueberry fan, but even i could tell that 1/2 c. was not enough!); i put regular rolled outs in the mini processor and chopped them fine; i had ground pecans leftover, so i used them; i used 1/2 brown sugar; high altitude adjustments of 2 T flour and 3/4 t. soda; 12 mini loaf pans for 25 min. 2 1/2 bananas was about right for 1 c. mashed. i'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
With additional blueberries and brown bananas, this is one flavorful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States