Favorite Banana Blueberry Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think using frozen blueberries caused this loaf to take too long to bake resulting in overdone edges and a raw centre. I will defrost or use fresh blueberries next ti e to see if that helps. I like the idea of this recipe but it won't be worth saving if it doesn't bake properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very disappointed in this bread. Everyone was saying put applesauce in instead of shortening, so I used both. Went over a bit with the applesauce, but pretty much equaled 1/2 cup. Didn't have nuts, but used everything else. Filled one bread pan to the brim, I should have used 2 smaller pans. Did not bake in 55 minutes. Had to cover the top after over an hour of baking because inside was still raw. I lost track of how long I baked it, 1 & 1/2 hours? When the inside FINALLY cooked, I took it out, let it cool. It was soooo bland. It needed more salt, it has not much taste at all. It had not much flavor at all, all I could taste was the banana! The blueberries don't even taste like blueberries, they might as well have been less expensive raisins because the banana dominated. Putting salted butter on it helped a lot, it was just that bland. Also, the quick oatmeal had some that didn't soften, so they were like little 'watch out for your dental work' rocks! I don't know what I did that was so different coming out in my oven than the stellar reviews I read on here, but it was a waste of ingredients. Especially very expensive blueberries. Sorry, never again. Maybe I shouldn't have used applesauce and shortening... couldn't taste the applesauce at all, and even after all that cooking time, it was STILL a little raw inside! Very disappointed...:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe has all that i love! Bananas, blueberries and oatmeal. I halved the recipe, used brown sugar instead of white..decreased the amt, add a little vanilla and made mini muffins instead. And oh,i added some granolas instead of the pecans cos i haven't got any. Very moist and delicious! I will try again with applesauce the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
SO good! Didn't have shortening so used unsalted butter. Left out the other 1/4 tsp salt as well and the nuts. This is my new favorite banana bread receipe - throwing away all the others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
amazingly delicious! easy and moist, just perfect. i love how there are oats in it. i personally don't care for a lot of sugar, so i cut it in half and it was still great. I also added vanilla (suggested by other reviewers) and a touch of lemon to bring out the sweetness of the blueberries,which made this beyond a 5 star recipe. thanks marbalet for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Used more blueberries, this was wonderful. Even my mom, who doesn't like bananas loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Calimesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Not a good combo for us - waste of both banana bread and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Traded out the shortening for applesauce and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Noble

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I ate half of it straight away, that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious!! I just cut the sugar by only using 1/4 a cup and replaced the shortening with applesauce! :) yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States