Faux-reos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
very close to the real thing only better since they have that "homemade" taste. i suggest keeping with kathy's instruction of nickel size or even smaller. if they are bigger, they don't spread out as nice and once you add the filling and another layer it becomes a little awkward to bite. also, the smaller they are the crisper they are. if you want them bigger maybe press them out a bit before putting them in the oven. i've made these for the last couple of years and everyone loves them, especially my oreo-freak dad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I wouldn't call these a copy of oreos, but they are very good. The ease in which this mixes up, and the great taste and nice presentation makes this cookie a winner. (They look like they were time consuming to make but really weren't.) My kids are asking to make them for their AWANA's club cookie exchange. That's high praise. I mixed marshmallow fluff and creme cheese icing together for the filling as per another suggestion. The tops did slip from the bottoms a bit, probably due to the marshmallow fluff, but it tasted good. This looks like a cookie that can be experimented with different flavored cake mixes and canned frostings for versatility too. A keeper of a recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I have made these about 5 times since I first found the recipe 2 years ago (I can't believe I haven't reviewed it until now!). I love them! Just make sure you take the author's word for it and make them tiny! :D They get unwieldly if you go bigger than that. DEEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
These were fantastic! My kids made them for their home-ec class yesterday. Between making the cookies and the filling, they were time consuming, but worth it! We found that making the dough balls the size of quarters worked best. But the ones we made the size of nickels sure were cute! In fact, my kids shared the cookies with some of their friends, and they chose the small ones first. For the filling, we used the ding dong cake filling recipe(from this site) And added Peanut Butter to the mix. They were a hit. Before you add the filling, the cookies are hard like an oreo, but after adding the filling, they become soft. Either way, they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These are wonderful, yet so easy. I've made these numerous times and they are always a hit. The last time, I used mint extract and the result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
yum, yum, yum! VERY easy to make. I would also recommend sticking with very small dough balls, since the smaller, the more you end up with! :) The dough even made a very good BIG cookie for my husband. My friends are now asking when I'm going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These are hard to make and messy, but man , oh, man are they good after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
More like a mini whoopie pie than an oreo but very easy to make and delicious. Will be making them again for an upcoming bakesale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I couldn't really eat these because of how much shortening was in it. My hubby liked them. they don't really taste like oreos, just chocolate cookies w/ frosting. The recipe made about 32 3inch finished cookies. I found them quite difficult to remove from my parchment lined baking sheets. I won't make again unless asked to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
So yummy! Only problem is that I eat way too many of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States