Faux Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I followed all the directions/ingredients, except I only had almonds on hand. Still turned out great, and super easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is good and easy to make. I've used it in the "White Bean Breakfast" on this site, as well as for pesto mayo. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I'm the author of the recipe to answer some questions...You do not need a full 1/2 cup of EVOO...use to your desired consistency. I use shredded parm (either fresh shredded or pre-shredded) not the sprinkle stuff in the can. Lastly, salt and pepper are both to taste. I use a Sea Salt grinder and fresh ground black pepper. You can also freeze in a ice cube tray for later use. Thanks for checking out my recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I'd like to try this tonight,,, Can you do this recipe without the pecans? Will it change the flavour of the sauce dramatically? Just put it together!!! Added an extra garlic clove for fun, and WOW! Its awesome! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fast, easy, and tasty. Even though I put in a bit too much garlic, my kids still liked it! We will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Loved it! Made as written. I think next time I'll add some fresh red peppers to give it some zing. I also hate overwhelming basil and dislike pine nuts, so this was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabeno, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I'm allergic to basil, so I've been looking for a pesto alternative for awhile now. This was absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuko11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great recipe! Very flavorful. I used pine nuts instead of pecans, and I'm glad I did. Also I chopped the spinach by hand instead of using the food processor, and mixed everything else in separately, though I doubt that it made a difference. My only tip would be to use a little less olive oil. I did, and I think it gave it a less slimy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I thought this was great and my wife who says she does not like Pesto sauce said she loved it. I made it exactly as stated only I used frozen spinich and soy nuts because of nut allergies. So easy, So quick, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Mild, yet fairly flavorful. Very easy to make. I minced the garlic before adding to the food processor for fear of getting a chunk of raw garlic in the sauce. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States