Faux Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great recipe! Very flavorful. I used pine nuts instead of pecans, and I'm glad I did. Also I chopped the spinach by hand instead of using the food processor, and mixed everything else in separately, though I doubt that it made a difference. My only tip would be to use a little less olive oil. I did, and I think it gave it a less slimy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
At first I was a little bit skeptical about pesto without basil leaves. But this was a pleasant surprise! It tasted great! And it's a lot cheaper than buying basil! I would recommend adding a little oregano too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I thought this was great and my wife who says she does not like Pesto sauce said she loved it. I made it exactly as stated only I used frozen spinich and soy nuts because of nut allergies. So easy, So quick, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very nice, mild pesto. I really enjoyed it. I wasn't sure if the recipe required fresh parmesan or if the pre-grated stuff in a shaker can was okay. I used the pre-grated stuff and found I had to add a little water and let it sit for 15 - 20 minutes to get rid of the crunchy texture of the cheese. I expect that wouldn't be necessary with the fresh cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I was looking for something to do with my extra fresh spinach, this was just the thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Mild, yet fairly flavorful. Very easy to make. I minced the garlic before adding to the food processor for fear of getting a chunk of raw garlic in the sauce. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Excellent recipe when you need to be a little creative. I live in a place where pine nuts and basil are hard to come by. Using spinach leaves and pecans worked perfectly for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Had a good flavor but was difficult to make since my food processor is small and I couldn't stream in the oil until I transferred it to a blender. Probably won't make again because of that but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Delicious! Great way to use up fresh spinach. I used walnuts instead of pecans (since I had those on hand) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I'm the author of the recipe to answer some questions...You do not need a full 1/2 cup of EVOO...use to your desired consistency. I use shredded parm (either fresh shredded or pre-shredded) not the sprinkle stuff in the can. Lastly, salt and pepper are both to taste. I use a Sea Salt grinder and fresh ground black pepper. You can also freeze in a ice cube tray for later use. Thanks for checking out my recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States