Faux Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great recipe! Very flavorful. I used pine nuts instead of pecans, and I'm glad I did. Also I chopped the spinach by hand instead of using the food processor, and mixed everything else in separately, though I doubt that it made a difference. My only tip would be to use a little less olive oil. I did, and I think it gave it a less slimy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
At first I was a little bit skeptical about pesto without basil leaves. But this was a pleasant surprise! It tasted great! And it's a lot cheaper than buying basil! I would recommend adding a little oregano too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I thought this was great and my wife who says she does not like Pesto sauce said she loved it. I made it exactly as stated only I used frozen spinich and soy nuts because of nut allergies. So easy, So quick, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very nice, mild pesto. I really enjoyed it. I wasn't sure if the recipe required fresh parmesan or if the pre-grated stuff in a shaker can was okay. I used the pre-grated stuff and found I had to add a little water and let it sit for 15 - 20 minutes to get rid of the crunchy texture of the cheese. I expect that wouldn't be necessary with the fresh cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I was looking for something to do with my extra fresh spinach, this was just the thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Mild, yet fairly flavorful. Very easy to make. I minced the garlic before adding to the food processor for fear of getting a chunk of raw garlic in the sauce. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Excellent recipe when you need to be a little creative. I live in a place where pine nuts and basil are hard to come by. Using spinach leaves and pecans worked perfectly for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Had a good flavor but was difficult to make since my food processor is small and I couldn't stream in the oil until I transferred it to a blender. Probably won't make again because of that but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Delicious! Great way to use up fresh spinach. I used walnuts instead of pecans (since I had those on hand) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I'm the author of the recipe to answer some questions...You do not need a full 1/2 cup of EVOO...use to your desired consistency. I use shredded parm (either fresh shredded or pre-shredded) not the sprinkle stuff in the can. Lastly, salt and pepper are both to taste. I use a Sea Salt grinder and fresh ground black pepper. You can also freeze in a ice cube tray for later use. Thanks for checking out my recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States