Faux Meat Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Decided to try new family tradition, and serve a meatless meal once a week. Recipe was easy to put together. Baked them in the oven and then placed them into spaghetti sauce. Flavor was a bit bland so will add more seasoning and cheese. I used a 1/4 measuring cup to be sure meatballs were same size, but I think I will make them a bit small next time. Sixteen year old liked them along with my husband, but my nine year old ate the spaghetti, but not the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made the basic recipe and added cheese topping and I also added oatmeal. I added beef flavoring and rolled it into balls, greased a pan, poured barbeque sauce over it and baked it about 45 minutes ar 325..It was so good. My husband ate some of the meat balls and has no idea there is no hamburger in it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodsGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
These were soooo good with bbq sauce and flour mixed into the batter!! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Love them. Quick to make, would cut cooking time with smaller balls. I used melon scoop, 3/4 full and got about 3 dozen. Used oregano instead of parsley and left salt out, doubled the Parmesan cheese, and used home made bread crumbs from whole wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These really are very good. I only made half a batch, because I didn't have many eggs. I wish I'd made more for snacks! These are so very tasty! I read the other reviews about them being dry, so about halfway through the baking time I drizzled them with olive oil. I didn't have "italian" breadcrumbs, so I just used plain and added some herbs (to be honest, I don't really pay attention when I'm sprinkling, I just start with oregano and go until it smells right). The flavor is awesome, but there is a "springiness" to their texture that is a little strange. After mixing everything, it was so liquid-y there was no way that I could have shaped this into balls, so I added another 1/2 cup or so of breadcrumbs. In the future, I will use 2 eggs and a little olive oil for a half batch. I think the oil should help with the moistness issue. I recommend trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
really great, added some minced onion. Yummy! Definitely add them right to sauce so they don't dry out. they absorb the sauce very well. Make this as is and let the mixture sit for 5-10 minutes, then form the meatballs. I make this all the time, the vegetarians in my family looooove it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was great. I replaced half of the breadcrumbs with oats, added sauteed green peppers and a half package of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
these were really pretty good. next time i might try adding bar-b-que sauce like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
tasty comfort food, but i couldn't get them to stay in balls, either. so i just let them crumble and mixed with farfalle pasta. made nice leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a creative approach to a vegetarian version of meatballs. This can be described as springy type of bread ball. A couple things I did differently though. The amount of parmesan cheese was doubled. A tablespoon of both ketchup and Worcestershire sauce were added to create more moisture. Instead of one clove of garlic, a teaspoon of garlic powder was added so its flavors can be distributed more evenly. Salt was slightly increased and added ½ tsp of oregano to create a bolder flavor. Since these are a bit dry, I would recommend adding a sauce factor. For example, place them on bare pasta noodles and pour the sauce on top. Some even mentioned baking with a sauce. Because of the dry texture, I would make the meatball portions a little bit smaller. This is certainly a very unique vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States