Faux Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious, especially as a marinade for tofu (I don't eat meat). Why is is "faux" jerk though? Tastes exactly like the ones I had in Jamaica (except maybe missing ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Faux Jerk Chicken Haiku: "Love this marinade! Chicken bathed in it one day. Spicy jerk, yah mon!" This was great chicken; however, "Jay's Jerk Chicken" from AR is far superior in quality, but this recipe made up for that with its ease of preparation. Followed the recipe exactly, subbing jalapenos for the scotch bonnet and going a teensy bit heavier on the allspice. Leaving my chicken tenderloins marinating in it for a little over 24 hrs. resulted in a moist, flavorful hunk o' jerky poultry goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is great. Used the marinade on chicken thighs, then cooked under the broiler. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
this recipe is delicious it also taste very good served over a baked sweet potatoe mixed with honey, cilantro and a papaya cut into a relish like the way they serve it at claim jumper's i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernadette
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is absolutely awesome! The first time I made it for my daughter's birthday party, we used the oven. It has an intense flavor and there were NO leftovers. My friend made it on the grill. It still had a good flavor but not as intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
super easy, marinated it for a day and baked at 350 for about 1hr. I used 1 bone-in breast and 4 legs. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I love this recipe! It is one of my absolute favorites and I make it whenever I get a chance. Always juicy, tender and delicious. I mix up all the ingredients and let the chicken marinate for about 24 hours. I substitute chili powder for the bonnet chili peppers because I can't get those at any of my local grocery stores; other than that, I make everything as directed. As sides, I serve long grain wild rice and fried plantains (Alton Brown's "Good Eats" recipe). I love love LOVE this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was so good! It the cinnamon and spice reminded me of an Afghani recipe that I absolutely love! I made a rice pilaf and they were perfect together! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mnoriega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Made this delicious marinade and let stand overnight. The next afternoon we ate the chicken on ciabatta bread as a Jerk Sandwich. I even cooked it indoors on an electric grill due to rain.... Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wonderful, juicy, delicious, fabulous, sweet/spicy perfection! Now that I'm out of adjectives LOL..... I use jalapenos instead of scotch bonnet/habanero. I dice one, then remove seeds from a 2nd & put it in the marinade whole. Freezes well, I make up a big batch of marinade & divide breasts in Ziploc freezer bags to marinate in the freezer for easy weeknight meals. Just thaw in a sink of cold water when you get home from work (usually thaws in about an hour – just enough time to get the charcoal going & have an adult beverage) Fabulous on pork tenderloin as well…we serve w/saffron rice & black beans. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetNot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States