Faux Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is awesome! I cooked it in the oven (bad weather) for about 40 min and it came out great. I think the chicken should be pounded just a little and would make it more tender and juicy. I also kicked it up with a little red pepper and it worked nice with the sweetness of the marinade. Served scallop potatoes and steamed cauliflower with melted cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times over the last few years. It consistently gets praises from guests. Many people have asked for the recipe - thank you for sharing it, "BETHMCAFEE"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
: I’ve wanted to make this for a long time, but never had any luck finding scotch bonnet peppers. This year, I decided to raise them in my garden. I had my doubts about this after mixing up the marinade, but once I smelled the aroma coming from the grill, I knew it was going to be fabulous. The chicken was juicy, not too spicy, and subtly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love jerk chicken and have tried quite a few in my travels around the US. This jerk marinade didn't remind me of any of those jerk chicken I've eaten, but that was initially. After a day, the flavours intensified and the lime really came through. It was really nice. Still doesn't remind of the wonderful jerk chicken and ribs we had in Caribbean restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This chicken was AMAZING! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
A+++++ PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
3 TBS olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is an easy recipe to make and it was tasty. But it will not be added to my regular rotation. Only when I am looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious, especially as a marinade for tofu (I don't eat meat). Why is is "faux" jerk though? Tastes exactly like the ones I had in Jamaica (except maybe missing ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Faux Jerk Chicken Haiku: "Love this marinade! Chicken bathed in it one day. Spicy jerk, yah mon!" This was great chicken; however, "Jay's Jerk Chicken" from AR is far superior in quality, but this recipe made up for that with its ease of preparation. Followed the recipe exactly, subbing jalapenos for the scotch bonnet and going a teensy bit heavier on the allspice. Leaving my chicken tenderloins marinating in it for a little over 24 hrs. resulted in a moist, flavorful hunk o' jerky poultry goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States