Fattigmann Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Hi, I see I am a tad late, in replying here, but never the less, I too was taught by my Grandmother, and she came here from Norway and we too keep the tradition going strong. We have A BAkkelfest every year in December, and the whole family gathers in my Grandparents old home in which my parents now own, and we have a great time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My heritage is Nowegian and German. I get to enjoy German and Norwegian Christmas cookies every year. Fattingman is one of my favorites. They have light powdered sugar on top and YUM YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love this recipe, I have my great grandmother's hand written copy, which is written in backing spoons, flour enough, and "spitting temperature of the lard" This is the closest I've come to a modern version, only she used nutmeg as she didn't like cardomand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
my grandmother taught me how to make this cookie 3 years ago, before her passing. her grandmother taught her how to make it. Our family came to america over 100 years ago, and have made the cookie at christmas time ever since their arrival. This cookie is truly special to my entire extended family. I am carrying on the tradition now. happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
The recipe needs 2 emandations. First, the cookies are eased into a pot of melted lard for deep fat cooking. Do NOT splash, you will hurt! Cook untill the cookie returns to the surface and turn over to finish cooking. The cookie should not be brown! Second, a pastry wheel will cut the cookies and allow you to create a diagonal line across the middle and flip one end of the cookie through the hole to create a cookie which looks like a belt buckle and the shape will provide a hole to hook with a fork when you lift it out of the lard. Swallow to dry your mouth and blow the excess lard off the cookie before placing it on a flat piece of a brown paper bag to finish draining and to cool. The cardamum will taste better if you store the cookies in a paper lined sealed container for at least a week. The cookies will maintain their texture there also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
OMG !!!! My grandma and I made this every HOLIDAY what memories thank you for giving me the exact recipe,i was little around 5-7 yrs old at the time we made these, so TO HAVE THIS RECIPE NOW, I CAN PASS IT ON TO MY SON'S FAMILY thank you so MUCH...you do don't know what this means,PS i just finish making these, DEEELICIOUS just like i remember....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The Polish families also have these for special occasions, like Christmas, they call them Angel Wings, we just do not add cardamom, and we also dust with powdered sugar after done frying... ; ) yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Close to my Grandmother's recipe. Cardamon to taste was all that was written in English. I also add a tbls of brandy. Another recipe recommend refrigerating overnight to make it easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My Great Grandmother who came over from Norway, taught me and my mother how to make these cookies. In addition to the other tips, we dusted the cookies with powdered sugar when we were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINKL4U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
My husbands mother, who is now passed, shared a very similiar Norwegian Recipe that she called Fuddins. Guessing that was family slang for this treat. Glad to read about the heritage of the recipe and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States