Fattigmann Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
OMG !!!! My grandma and I made this every HOLIDAY what memories thank you for giving me the exact recipe,i was little around 5-7 yrs old at the time we made these, so TO HAVE THIS RECIPE NOW, I CAN PASS IT ON TO MY SON'S FAMILY thank you so MUCH...you do don't know what this means,PS i just finish making these, DEEELICIOUS just like i remember....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigsusan7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
My husbands mother, who is now passed, shared a very similiar Norwegian Recipe that she called Fuddins. Guessing that was family slang for this treat. Glad to read about the heritage of the recipe and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Close to my Grandmother's recipe. Cardamon to taste was all that was written in English. I also add a tbls of brandy. Another recipe recommend refrigerating overnight to make it easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The Polish families also have these for special occasions, like Christmas, they call them Angel Wings, we just do not add cardamom, and we also dust with powdered sugar after done frying... ; ) yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My heritage is Nowegian and German. I get to enjoy German and Norwegian Christmas cookies every year. Fattingman is one of my favorites. They have light powdered sugar on top and YUM YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I saw this recipe & thought I'd try a different Fattigmand recipe instead of my great-great-grandmothers. I did not like this recipe at all. there was not enough cardamom and definately not enough sugar! It was completely tasteless, in my opinion tasted like cardboard. I had to add sugar to it after it was a dough & it turned out horrible I threw half of it away & made the recipe I used for years. Fattigmand is not supposed to be a sweet cookie but there is supposed to be at least enough to taste the sweetness & this recipe was not like that. I will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Just about like my Norwegian grandmother's Fattigmann's, but needs 1 tablespoon brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My Great Grandmother who came over from Norway, taught me and my mother how to make these cookies. In addition to the other tips, we dusted the cookies with powdered sugar when we were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINKL4U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love this recipe, I have my great grandmother's hand written copy, which is written in backing spoons, flour enough, and "spitting temperature of the lard" This is the closest I've come to a modern version, only she used nutmeg as she didn't like cardomand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Hi, I see I am a tad late, in replying here, but never the less, I too was taught by my Grandmother, and she came here from Norway and we too keep the tradition going strong. We have A BAkkelfest every year in December, and the whole family gathers in my Grandparents old home in which my parents now own, and we have a great time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States