Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Wow! Delicious. I used balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice and very thinly sliced red onion instead of green onions. My husband asked me to make another batch for his lunch, then asked for it for dinner the next night. That never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERMARIGOLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I served this at a barbeque with friends and it went down a treat. The dressing is fantastic, we had extra and used it on a normal salad to good effect. I didn't have the sumac, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Excellent rendition! Don't leave out the sumac! I am always asked for this recipe. Interesting salad for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I just want to tell people that cant find Sumac to dicover Penzey's Spices.You can order online...search the name Penzey's.Great fresh spices at very good prices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Really, really good. Try to keep find sumac if you can as it definitely adds to the unique taste of this salad. As for the pita chips: what I did was rub the tops of the pitas with olive oil and then sprinkle them with garlic, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper. Toast for 10 minutes or until golden brown. The oil and seasonings make the pitas turn out extra crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Very tasty! Terrific with large chunks of fresh cuke and tomato. Especially since the cuke soaks up the dressing. The mint mingles well with the lemon and garlic. Pita chips with sea salt makes for a nice topping... You can make this salad last by keeping the romaine, dressing, and remainder of the ingredients in separate containers and fridge it until ready to serve. Make sure you allow the dressing time to thaw as the oil hardens when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This was awesome! I found Sumac on line at a store called Hashems and made this. Its was great! Sumac kind of sticks to your teeth but it's worth it! People who would not normally touch this type of thing were smitten. It is now a family favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
yum! Unfortunately, I couldn't find sumac anywhere, but it was delicious even without it. My dad said it was the best salad he ever had, so needless to say there was none left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Couldn't find the sumac, but the salad was still great. I only wish I could give it more than five stars. The only problem is that it doesn't keep well as the pita bread croutons get a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
EXCELLENT!! I was looking for a good recipe for this dressing, and I found it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States