Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I served this at a barbeque with friends and it went down a treat. The dressing is fantastic, we had extra and used it on a normal salad to good effect. I didn't have the sumac, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Excellent rendition! Don't leave out the sumac! I am always asked for this recipe. Interesting salad for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I just want to tell people that cant find Sumac to dicover Penzey's Spices.You can order online...search the name Penzey's.Great fresh spices at very good prices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Really, really good. Try to keep find sumac if you can as it definitely adds to the unique taste of this salad. As for the pita chips: what I did was rub the tops of the pitas with olive oil and then sprinkle them with garlic, sea salt, and freshly ground pepper. Toast for 10 minutes or until golden brown. The oil and seasonings make the pitas turn out extra crispy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Very tasty! Terrific with large chunks of fresh cuke and tomato. Especially since the cuke soaks up the dressing. The mint mingles well with the lemon and garlic. Pita chips with sea salt makes for a nice topping... You can make this salad last by keeping the romaine, dressing, and remainder of the ingredients in separate containers and fridge it until ready to serve. Make sure you allow the dressing time to thaw as the oil hardens when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This was awesome! I found Sumac on line at a store called Hashems and made this. Its was great! Sumac kind of sticks to your teeth but it's worth it! People who would not normally touch this type of thing were smitten. It is now a family favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
yum! Unfortunately, I couldn't find sumac anywhere, but it was delicious even without it. My dad said it was the best salad he ever had, so needless to say there was none left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Couldn't find the sumac, but the salad was still great. I only wish I could give it more than five stars. The only problem is that it doesn't keep well as the pita bread croutons get a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
EXCELLENT!! I was looking for a good recipe for this dressing, and I found it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I would give this more than five stars if it were possible,it was FANTASTIC! I had to order the sumac on line,not a common spice in the midwest.The effort was worth it.My company and I couldn't leave this salad alone,it was such a treat.The store was out of pita bread so I got a loaf of old world type bread from the bakery,sliced and toasted it and served on the side instead of mixing in. I only immagine that the pitas couldn't be any better if I had them,will try for comparison next time. We will make this alot because it is wonderfully different and simple to prepare. I want to pair it next time with gorganzola grape leaf rolls from this site,they are both spectacular and would compliment each other I am sure. Thankyou for sharing this. This recipe alone makes all the time I have spent reading reviews worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States