Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I live in a Arab country, and this fatoosh is very authentic. There are never any leftovers; even the children love it. (I wouldn't add pickles, but to each her own...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Like other reviewers, I add the chopped dill pickles, some Greek olives and crumbled Feta cheese, the way I've had it in restaurants. I now halve the amount of sumac in the dressing recipe; the first time I made it it tasted like dirt. Also, use about 1 teaspoon of dried herbs if not using fresh parsley and mint. Too much dried herb tend to gunk up the dressing. And heavens (!) don't use ReaLemon juice, fresh is BEST! Each one of the ingredients lends it's special taste and texture to this salad, it'd be a shame to leave anything out. Great with grilled chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Did I just not make this right? The dressing is too sour. Maybe I'll try it again in the summer when I have fresh parsley & mint...therefore the 2 stars because I didn't have the fresh ingredients. But no rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Fabulous--tastes just like my mother-in-law's fattoush (and she's Arab!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Sumac really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Our favourite salad from a restaurant that went out of business. Great to find a good recipe for the dressing. We added chunks of chopped kosher dill pickles to the salad and used red onions rather than green onions. Try it with the pickles, it's an awesome addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Wow! Delicious. I used balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice and very thinly sliced red onion instead of green onions. My husband asked me to make another batch for his lunch, then asked for it for dinner the next night. That never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERMARIGOLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I served this at a barbeque with friends and it went down a treat. The dressing is fantastic, we had extra and used it on a normal salad to good effect. I didn't have the sumac, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Excellent rendition! Don't leave out the sumac! I am always asked for this recipe. Interesting salad for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States