Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I have never heard of this type of salad before I made it. I am so glad I discovered it. I added a bit of feta and some tuna without the mayo to get some protein. It was delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Very nice recipe for this classic salad. Only thing I would change is less sumac powder. We found it a little over-powering so added more lettuce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Very refreshing and nice salad, even without sumac or onion! This is usually a side so I guess it is more than 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I live in a Arab country, and this fatoosh is very authentic. There are never any leftovers; even the children love it. (I wouldn't add pickles, but to each her own...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Like other reviewers, I add the chopped dill pickles, some Greek olives and crumbled Feta cheese, the way I've had it in restaurants. I now halve the amount of sumac in the dressing recipe; the first time I made it it tasted like dirt. Also, use about 1 teaspoon of dried herbs if not using fresh parsley and mint. Too much dried herb tend to gunk up the dressing. And heavens (!) don't use ReaLemon juice, fresh is BEST! Each one of the ingredients lends it's special taste and texture to this salad, it'd be a shame to leave anything out. Great with grilled chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Did I just not make this right? The dressing is too sour. Maybe I'll try it again in the summer when I have fresh parsley & mint...therefore the 2 stars because I didn't have the fresh ingredients. But no rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Fabulous--tastes just like my mother-in-law's fattoush (and she's Arab!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Sumac really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Our favourite salad from a restaurant that went out of business. Great to find a good recipe for the dressing. We added chunks of chopped kosher dill pickles to the salad and used red onions rather than green onions. Try it with the pickles, it's an awesome addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States