Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe, very refreshing. For a twist I added a little bit of pomegranate molasses and vinegar...very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
GREAT recipe!!! My husband and I love Mediterranean food, and this salad tastes just like the kind we love from our favorite restaurant. I could not find sumac spice, and I think it would have added more flavoring. Next time, I am going to use store bought pita chips and make the dressing a few hours in advance to let the flavors mix. Also, I'm going to get some sumac spice. Will be making this again!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Caywood Nehmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great! Skipped the sumac powder and didn't try to replace it with anything. Bought pita bread "chips" at the store that were already pre-toasted. I used dried herbs instead of fresh -- used just 1/3 the listed fresh quantity. Was great and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great Salad Recipe. I didn't have the sumac powder. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. It is delicious. My husband is from Jordan, and this is a regular salad there. May I suggest to fry the bread (which is traditionally done in Jordan and other Arab countries) in pieces instead of baking it. I know it adds unwanted calories, but it adds wonderful flavor and it doesn't get soggy as mentioned in some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
All I can say is Awesome! This taste just like I have had in restaurants! Will fix again and again. Didn't change a thing - except I cheated and used Stacy's Pita Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Interesting flavors - we liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I want to qualify this review by stating that I did not find sumac powder and substituted lemon zest instead. I also used too much mint as I was "eyeballing" it. So, I'm definitely going to try to make it again after I order some sumac powder online. But, my first time out it wasn't that great. And then, of course, with the leftovers, the pita chips were soggy. Next time I'll just let people put their own on instead of tossing with the salad. Still, I love the combo of ingredients (especially with an abundance of tomatoes & cukes in my garden right now), so it's worth some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
YUM! This was soooo good and reminded me a lot of a salad we make, that we call 'syrian salad'. I've never used sumac before, but I bought it at the Mediterranean market and thought I would go for it...it was wonderful. Everything about this salad was great! I will be using this recipe again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
A truly awesome recipe! We add left over sliced steak and it makes a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States