Fatoosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I would give this more than five stars if it were possible,it was FANTASTIC! I had to order the sumac on line,not a common spice in the midwest.The effort was worth it.My company and I couldn't leave this salad alone,it was such a treat.The store was out of pita bread so I got a loaf of old world type bread from the bakery,sliced and toasted it and served on the side instead of mixing in. I only immagine that the pitas couldn't be any better if I had them,will try for comparison next time. We will make this alot because it is wonderfully different and simple to prepare. I want to pair it next time with gorganzola grape leaf rolls from this site,they are both spectacular and would compliment each other I am sure. Thankyou for sharing this. This recipe alone makes all the time I have spent reading reviews worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
The first time I made this I didn't have sumac, so I used a possibly even more obscure Indian spice, amchoor, which is also very sour. The second time, I had my sumac. The dressing was a tad too tart for me, so I plan to cut the lemon juice just a little bit next time. Otherwise, this is a great salad. I especially enjoy the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Ok, so I live in the country and we do not have this herb around here. However, this is a very refreshing salad without it and I have made it twice now. I toss in a little shredded mozzerella too as I am a cheese nut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST SALADS I HAVE EVER HAD!!! The sumac powder can be found in middle-eastern markets and be sure to add the pita pieces right b4 serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Great recipe! My boyfriend is Lebanese and gave me the thumbs up. My only tip- add TONS of sumac to the salad and when you think you've added enough, add more! I'm talking like a 1/2 cup worth...trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This was wonderful -- a great, fresh-tasting salad with a lot of zip. I did not have sumac, b/c couldn't find it anywhere, but the salad was STILL to die for. A keepr, for sure. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
The dressing is refreshingly good. I grow my own mint. It grows like a weed and is a perennial. What I like about mint, is that it gives food a fresh wholesome summery flavor. Thank you for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
My family LOVES this salad. We have it a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was delicious. Eat it as a salad with the toasted pita pieces or fill an untoasted pita with the salad mixture for a wonderful vegetarian sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Very nice salad; refreshing with the cucumber, mint, and lemon juice. No revisions made; it's good just as it is. I've had sumac powder on various dishes at my favorite Mediterranean restaurant, so it was fun to hunt it down and use it on my own. Thank you so much, Winna! (May 20, 2003)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States