Father-in-Law's Scallops with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was quite delicious and definitely a meal that we'll keep in our dinner rotation. Even my three-year-old son devoured it. As written, the sauce recipe is rather scant on quantity, so when I make it again, I would double the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a very good scallop recipe that even the kids loved. Definitely need to double the sauce. I added extra sun-dried tomatoes also. Did not use the olive oil - the bacon grease left from frying bacon was perfect for cooking the scallops. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kutie Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
My family loved it. My daughter wanted her scallops on the side but she is eight. My husband and I loved it and he does not really eat tomatoes but he did not waste a drop. Based on another reviews comments I doubled the wine, cream, butter, and garlic to make more sauce and I am glad that I did. I also used Fettuccine noodles but suggest you sick with the smaller pasta because my sauce was thin. I also used think cut smoked bacon. Please thank your father-in-law; this will now be in my family’s recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kutie Pie
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was yummy! I used chicken instead of scallops and also added sauted mushrooms. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I added som shitake mushrooms to the sauce and also added a little extra cream and wine to make more sauce. Sooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Lovely. A great way to start me thinking of multiple ways to do similar dishes. Maybe 1/2 shrimps & /2 scallops. Capers instead of sun dried tomatos, a little bit of lemon? The possibilities are endless. As it is, I prepared this as written and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Pretty much stuck to the recipe. Only made 8 scallops with the original amount of sauce (which came out perfectly) to feed 2 of us. Will make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
my husband is a scallop fisherman so I am always searching for new ways to cook them...this recipe is a hit with everyone....delicious....definitely a favorite of mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I gave this four stars so I wouldn't hurt the overall rating because of my changes. However, I would like to leave a review for the pescatarians that may be considering making this dish. I left out the bacon and sprinkled just a little bit of vegetarian bacon bits on the dish at the end. I used diced sundried tomatoes which gave the flavor but hurt the texture a bit. Overall, I would give this 3 stars for a pescatarian meal because it lacked flavor. My boyfriend did enjoy this dish but I doubt I will make it again. If I do, I will have to make some major modifications and will probably not use the bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this recipe as written, but it just wasn't good. Quite bland and just blah. The sauce was barely enough for one serving, so I would definitely recommend doubling or tripling the sauce portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States