Father-in-Law's Scallops with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was quite delicious and definitely a meal that we'll keep in our dinner rotation. Even my three-year-old son devoured it. As written, the sauce recipe is rather scant on quantity, so when I make it again, I would double the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
my husband is a scallop fisherman so I am always searching for new ways to cook them...this recipe is a hit with everyone....delicious....definitely a favorite of mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a very good scallop recipe that even the kids loved. Definitely need to double the sauce. I added extra sun-dried tomatoes also. Did not use the olive oil - the bacon grease left from frying bacon was perfect for cooking the scallops. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was yummy! I used chicken instead of scallops and also added sauted mushrooms. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Pretty much stuck to the recipe. Only made 8 scallops with the original amount of sauce (which came out perfectly) to feed 2 of us. Will make it again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kutie Pie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
My family loved it. My daughter wanted her scallops on the side but she is eight. My husband and I loved it and he does not really eat tomatoes but he did not waste a drop. Based on another reviews comments I doubled the wine, cream, butter, and garlic to make more sauce and I am glad that I did. I also used Fettuccine noodles but suggest you sick with the smaller pasta because my sauce was thin. I also used think cut smoked bacon. Please thank your father-in-law; this will now be in my family’s recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kutie Pie
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe is awesome!! Something I did was cook the bacon in a little of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Also instead of using sea scallops I used bay scallops which are much sweeter than the sea scallops. This was a perfect pairing with the bacon and bit of the sun dried tomatoes. My sauce wasn't quite thick enough but adding just a bit of corn starch solved that problem! Excellent recipe a must for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I added capers. This was a fabulous dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I added som shitake mushrooms to the sauce and also added a little extra cream and wine to make more sauce. Sooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was fantastic! My husband rates my meals, not only was this in his first tier, but his FAVORITE of all time. I doubled the sauce and added two tablespoons of capers. I also added a tablespoon of the Sun-dried tomato oil to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States