Fat-Free Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
The flavors did not pop for me. This does not have the classic tangy-ness of traditional vegetable soup. I'll move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I threw everything in the crock pot, cooked on high for about 5 hours or until veggies are soft. I also threw in a bay leaf, doubled the diced canned tomatoes(used basily & garlic flavor) and doubled curry, chicken broth, and added 3 garlic cloves, oregano, and mushrooms. Very healthy and tasty soup. Turned out great in the crock pot!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe.. For those who dont like a really TOMATO-Y vegetable soup. I subbed zuchini for the cauliflower, left out the peppers. But used lots of black pepper. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Excellent WITH MODIFICATIONS.... 1. GARLIC!! I don't trust recipes without garlic. I added 8 cloves, minced. Duh. 2. Saute the onions, celery, carrots, and garlic in a teensy bit of EVOO with some red pepper flakes as your first step. It only adds minor fat, and good fat at that. Just a little, I promise. 3. Flat leaf parsley. Throw in a few handfuls, coarsely chopped, with the cauliflower. 4. The curry powder. How could curry powder possibly be 'optional'??? Curry powder is the 'IT' ingredient in this soup! Get it in there... and plenty of it. Two HEAPED teaspoons at minimum. 5. USE GOOD STOCK, not water and those gross little MSG nuggets of bouillon. Eww. 6. Salt, pepper, salt, pepper. Taste and season often throughout the process. 7. CHEESE RINDS. Take the rinds off your good, hard cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, etc, put them in a ziploc and throw them in the freezer. Any time you're making soup, toss the rinds in early on. They add the depth that soup can lack, especially a meatless soup. Again, not to much fat, truck loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Although the soup is good, it was somewhat lacking in flavor. Maybe because it was fat-free. I added 2 Tbsp plus 1 tsp salt, but think that, if I made it again, I'd cave to some fat at teh beginning which I'd sautee the onions (and perhaps some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a great 1st course soup or lunch soup and is far and away better than any canned stuff off the shelf. I used it as a fridge-cleaning soup, and tossed all kids of week-old veggies in it. I did leave out potatoes since I didn't have any, but that would have made it more filling...also, a little whole wheat pasta added in the last 15 minutes would be good, too. I think the key to any soup is good stock/bullion. If you use the good stuff, you won't miss the fat. The curry is definitely the secret ingredient...don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This does lack a bit of flavor, but it's good for a low calorie filling soup. I used frozen hash brown potatoes w/ peppers in place of the potatoes... made 10 large servings for under 100 calories and only 1 weight watcher point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I'm an American that lives in northern Italy, and there are many restaurants around my town that serve a vegetable soup that it very similar to this one. Because I love the taste so much, I decided to make it for myself at home. This dish is not intended to be thick in texture, or be "full" of flavor. At least not like we American enjoy (which is usually packed with fat). It is a brothy soup and its heartiness and taste comes from the vegetables inside. I did change the recipe up a bit to match what I have seen/had here. For flavor I added a table spoon of olive oil, garlic salt instead of plain salt (but not too much), pepper, a few dashes of oregano, and 2 bouillon cubes (if you are a vegetarian you would leave these out). For the vegetables I threw in; small/medium red potato’s, celery stocks, zucchini, carrots, tomato’s, and a half of an onion (all fresh and chopped), I didn’t add bell peppers or cauliflower (mainly because I don’t like the taste). I put all ingredients into a pot and brought it to a boil, then I reduced the heat and let it slow cook until done. Almost immediately I could smell all the wonderful flavors coming out of this dish. Now as far as people having a problem that it was stated “fat- and cholesterol-free and only 5% fat/calories” to me this is really irrelevant. The soup IS a low fat and much healthier dish then some of the other vegetable soups I’ve viewed on this site! So over all I think this recipe is a good start for creating your own healthy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
For a low fat vegetable soup, it's wonderful! I added more cabbage and used the whole 28 oz can of tomatoes because I love both. Don't use an aluminum pot because the metal leaches through and it tastes horrible. (I had to dump my first try down the sewer because it had a metal taste.) I used my Kitchen Aide pot the 2nd time and halved the recipe and it turned out wonderful. This is a great "diet" soup. I put vegetarian sausage crumbled up in my last bowl and it was wonderful. When people say it's missing something, my guess is that it's the fat. Anything without added fat, you are going to have to realize and just adjust your taste buds and enjoy the taste of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Siejko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe was great!! My husband loved it and it keeps very well - the flavor was better after a few days in the fridge! I made a couple of changes but kept most of it the same - I didn't have diced tomatoes, so I just threw in a can of tomato sauce for a hint of tomato flavor. Also, I had no curry or dill, and being from the south and with a cajun husband, no recipe is complete without some Tony Chachere's and Tabasco. I put those in to taste and some pepper, and it had a great kick! Overall, I loved this recipe and will definitely be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States