Fat-Free Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I'm an American that lives in northern Italy, and there are many restaurants around my town that serve a vegetable soup that it very similar to this one. Because I love the taste so much, I decided to make it for myself at home. This dish is not intended to be thick in texture, or be "full" of flavor. At least not like we American enjoy (which is usually packed with fat). It is a brothy soup and its heartiness and taste comes from the vegetables inside. I did change the recipe up a bit to match what I have seen/had here. For flavor I added a table spoon of olive oil, garlic salt instead of plain salt (but not too much), pepper, a few dashes of oregano, and 2 bouillon cubes (if you are a vegetarian you would leave these out). For the vegetables I threw in; small/medium red potato’s, celery stocks, zucchini, carrots, tomato’s, and a half of an onion (all fresh and chopped), I didn’t add bell peppers or cauliflower (mainly because I don’t like the taste). I put all ingredients into a pot and brought it to a boil, then I reduced the heat and let it slow cook until done. Almost immediately I could smell all the wonderful flavors coming out of this dish. Now as far as people having a problem that it was stated “fat- and cholesterol-free and only 5% fat/calories” to me this is really irrelevant. The soup IS a low fat and much healthier dish then some of the other vegetable soups I’ve viewed on this site! So over all I think this recipe is a good start for creating your own healthy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
It is impossible for a food to be both "fat-free" and have "5% calories from fat." It worries me that people throw around the phrase "Fat-Free" without concern for accuracy or honesty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Excellent WITH MODIFICATIONS.... 1. GARLIC!! I don't trust recipes without garlic. I added 8 cloves, minced. Duh. 2. Saute the onions, celery, carrots, and garlic in a teensy bit of EVOO with some red pepper flakes as your first step. It only adds minor fat, and good fat at that. Just a little, I promise. 3. Flat leaf parsley. Throw in a few handfuls, coarsely chopped, with the cauliflower. 4. The curry powder. How could curry powder possibly be 'optional'??? Curry powder is the 'IT' ingredient in this soup! Get it in there... and plenty of it. Two HEAPED teaspoons at minimum. 5. USE GOOD STOCK, not water and those gross little MSG nuggets of bouillon. Eww. 6. Salt, pepper, salt, pepper. Taste and season often throughout the process. 7. CHEESE RINDS. Take the rinds off your good, hard cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, etc, put them in a ziploc and throw them in the freezer. Any time you're making soup, toss the rinds in early on. They add the depth that soup can lack, especially a meatless soup. Again, not to much fat, truck loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
I personall do not like tomato based soups so this recipe caught my eye. Even taking a little extra time to prepare the fresh veggies, the result was worth it. Delicious, healthy and my granddaughters aged five and six loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Outstanding! I mostly followed the recipe, but read some of the reviews that said it was a little bland, so went heavier on the spices, and doubled the tomatoes. Did the green peppers and onions in a food processor to practically liquify them. Forgot to put in the cabbage. My first attempt at home-made vegetable soup, and it was really excellent. Hearty enough to be a meal in itself. I'll definately be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was the best version of the "low-fat/fat-free" veggie soup receipe that I have found. I was surprised at the excellent addition the dill made. I added some extra spices (a greek all-spice combination), and some petite diced tomato's with Jalapeno's for an extra kick! Very, very good. RAVE reviews from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I've never made soup in my life. I just starting taking an interest in cooking and this is the first "harder" recipe I've tried. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This recipe makes the best vegetable soup...everyone loved it and had seconds. I added some spices and pasta to make it even better. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
this was delicious and oh sooo filling!! It was definitely a make again meal. i'm a junior at cooking and stuff, and i hate to cut things up.. so this was a challenge, but my mom helped me and i'm soo glad i went through with it. We accidentally messed it up a little though, we put a lot more cabbage and too little cauliflower, but it was still really tasty. And sooo few calories!! Definitely a make again meal--my whole 7-person family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I have to say, this soup needs a lot of work. Granted, I was missing a couple of ingredients (potatoes and celery) but there is such a tremendous amount of water called for in comparison to the amount of veggies/spices! I ended up adding white beans to mine, as well as some quinoa which helped thicken it a little and give it a better texture. I also added about 10 bullion cubes (I didn't have powdered chicken bullion). I also added an extra teaspoon of curry powder, skipped the dill as it didn't seem to fit with the other ingredients, and added some cayenne pepper and dried parsley. After making these changes, the soup is really pretty good and I would probably make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States