Fat Free Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yum! I didn't have sweet relish on hand so I used dill relish and doubled it to 4 tbsp. Didn't have green onion so I used 1/4-1/2 tsp onion powder. Because I can't help myself, I also added a dash of lemon juice and 1.5 tbsp minced garlic, a pinch of kosher salt, and a few small dashes of cayenne. I think the red wine vinegar makes this recipe. The fat free mayo was so sugary, but with this recipe it's transformed. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great recipe. I made at the last minute and did a bunch of alterations and it still tasted great! I had fat-free mayo, added 1 baby dill pickle diced with juice, onion powder, a dash of lemon juice, cayaenne pepper and vinegar and ate it right then. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was excellent! I used a teaspoon of onion flakes instead of the green onion. Went great with my blackened tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I love it. I use it all the time. Used the ingredients just added more of everything to taste, to make a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! The only change I made was to use no sugar added relish to cut a few more calories and it was still great. Does not taste low calorie at all. In fact, it tastes like it would have tons of calories. Pair it with grilled or broiled fish and you have an extremely low cal dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband really liked this with his fish. No more jar sauce for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I added a little extra pickle relish and onion but overall, this was the BEST tartar sauce recipe I've ever made! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
EXTREMELY YUMMY! Made the recipe exactly as it says and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is really delicious -- a little sweet and a little tangy -- and so easy. A dash of salt made it even better. I'm a huge fan of tartar sauce but never seem to have it on hand when I want it. What's extra great about this is it uses ingredients I usually have on hand, so I can whip up a batch whenever needed. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
All I can say was it was not that good for us...the red wine vinegar got lost in the mayo. I really can say, I won't make this again. Too sweet. Tasted of sweet mayo, with a crunch. Sorry. I followed it like a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States