Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I made two version of the refried beans: One with black beans, and the other with pinto beans. I enjoyed the pinto beans better,but both were delicious. I added a few extra ingredients: beef bullion cubs, cumin, and I reduced the amount of liquid smoke to 1/4 teaspoon. A special note: USE 1/2 CUP OF WATER. A CUP OF WATER IS TOO TOO MUCH, AND IT MAKES THE BEANS WATERY. This is defintely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
5 stars with these changes: used 2 (15oz) cans pintos (drained & rinsed), added chili powder and cumin, used only 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and just a DASH of liquid smoke, mashed the whole thing in the pan. Quicker and VERY flavorful! Since I drained and rinsed the beans, I did need the water. Great with a few tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I've always wanted to make my own refried beans and being that I needed them for a recipe and didn't have the canned stuff in the house, this was the perfect opportunity. I too used pinto beans, omitted the salt, added more garlic, two cans of green chiles and only about a quarter tsp. of the smoke and a lot less water. For the reviewer who commented on the fact that this was not totally fat free; beans alone have a very small fat content. Most canned refried beans are made with lard, hence the reason that these would be considered fat free. Good eats Lisa and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I made these with pinto beans (Joan of Arc, which when I read the label it said fat = 0, so I'll believe that mine were fat free) but only because I didn't think that the kids would eat the black beans (I happen to LOVE black beans). These turned out really good! I cut the salt and the liquid smoke in 1/2. Not one bit left, thanks Lisa, these are the best (to date) that I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Bravo. Excellent recipe. I changed a bit because I had only kidney beans in the house. I added beef broth instead of water and used a little less liquid smoke and salt than called for. I topped with just a touch of shredded cheese and EVERYBODY loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was a great starting recipe. I added a couple of pinches of cumin, a pinch of cayenne, more garlic and a little chili powder and made a quesadilla with salsa and cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
I thought this recipe was okay but I found the liquid smoke too overpowering. One thing that bothers me though... the name of this recipe. The beans have fat in them. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
I liked it a lot. I ended up putting a lot of hot sauce in it and hot peppers...then rice to calm it down...and beans, corn and some other stuff. But, it was really good! Thank you! I'll make it sober one day and do it justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
best beans that I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was way too salty!!! It's best without any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States