Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
very good!! easy to do. i sauted the onion first then added the mashed beans, water and spices. i liked it in tacos instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I love these! I'm not a big fan of pinto beans, so using black beans for this recipe was inspired, IMHO! I agree with other reviewers, though, that it calls for too much liquid smoke. A couple of drops is plenty. Try is paired with Chicken Enchiladas I and Mexican Rice recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I like this, but I never use liquid smoke. What is the point? You can use whatever types of beans you prefer, and it turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I DONT LIKE BLACK BEANS SO I DID NOT TRY THIS RECIPE, BUT MY HUSBAND SEEMED TO LIKE IT OKAY...HE ATE HIS ENTIRE HELPING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
These beans were wonderful - a big hit with all at a Mexican inspired birthday dinner. They were just as good if not better reheated the next day. I used two cans of kidney beans and kept all the other ingredients pretty much the same, but I can say that I added small amounts of liquid smoke as reviewers suggested to make sure the taste didn't get too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Good. Next time I will use a little less water and onion; and I will saute the onion before adding to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Not appealing to any of my senses, looked gross, tasted gross and smelled gross. Sorry for the negative rating, I really was looking forward to trying it. Guess that's what trial and error is all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I was cooking dinner tonight when I noticed at the last moment that I was out of refried beans! I quickly logged in to all recipes and found this. I used it with our chicken tacos and it was wonderful, even the kids loved it! I did not add liquid smoke or onions and next time I will decrease the amount of pepper...use half a tsp. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
There were a great change of pace from store-bought refried beans. I just made a few changes and they came out great! I used A1 Smoky Mesquite sauce instead of liquid smoke (didn't have any) and added some chili powder, sauteed the onions and garlic prior to adding the beans, and drained about half the liquid from the beans instead of adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I thought the liquid smoke flavor was a little much - I dont really taste that flavor in any other refried beans I have had. Easy to make though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States