Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
A bit too much garlic for us, but otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Great recipe! Almost fool proof. Added 1/3 cup water instead of 1/2. Didn't use liquid smoke. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
SO good! Forget the canned stuff...this is the best! I also cut out the liquid smoke and cut down the salt, pepper and onion. I think i will cut out the onion altogether next time. I sprinkled in some crushed red pepper flakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This had way too much onion for me. I even sauteed the onion before hand and added an extra can of beans. As per other posts, I cut back on the liquid smoke, salt and pepper. A nice idea but I think the amounts on the ingredients are wrong. I'm wondering if it should be two 'cans' of beans instead of two 'cups'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
As many people noted, there are some changes that need to be made on this recipe. I used 2 15.5 oz cans of PINTO beans, and reduced the liquid smoke to 1/4 tsp. The 5 stars I am obviously giving to the recipe with adjustments made. It was way better than canned and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I used pinto beans (drained and rinsed, really cuts the salt), since I don't have black beans, but I'll do the black beans next time. These are really easy, and they are way better than the canned. I didn't use any salt, pepper, or liquid smoke (none on hand). Also skipped the onions because of family preference. Added cumin because of all that. This is a recipe that's easy to adjust to your personal liking, which is great to me! I am going to add diced jalepeno next time for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
These were yummy and easy. I used pinto beans and eased up on the salt and pepper. I also did not use the liquid smoke. The onions were a little strong, so I added another can of beans (half mashed). Next time I may saute the onions before or lower their amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
These tasted nothing like the refried beans I've had in the past. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
As other reviewers noted, reduce liquid smoke to just a few drops... also decreased the salt and pepper too. These are great-- better than any 'canned' refried beans I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
i left out the onions because i used this in a fajita and the salsa already had onions in it. i also left out the liquid smoke. these were good beans, they went well with the salsa chicken burrito filling recipe that i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States