Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, but as others have noted it needs some help. I subbed pinto beans for the black beans, and I think the 2 cups it calls for is a typo, it should read 2 cans. Also, 1 tsp. liquid smoke is way too much, a 1/4 tsp. is enough. I rinsed and drained the beans, added 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp. cumin and 1/2 tsp. ancho chili pepper. I reserved 3/4 cup of the beans, then coarsely chopped the rest with my immersion blender. I added 1 cup vegetable broth, along with the rest of the ingredients, then let it cook down to a thick consistency. Tasted just like the real thing without the calories and fat. With changes it's a five star recipe and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Okay I have to admit I did not follow the recipe exactly so that may be why it did not turn out great. I started with 2 cans of beans, cut down on the water, used pre-minced "jar garlic", and did not use the liquid smoke. I tasted it and all I could taste was onion, so I added a whole other can of beans. I still had the same overwhelming onion taste, and like onions! I can't see how this could taste good at all with the amount of beans the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great healthy recipe. I had to use pinto beans (can't find black here in Nairobi) and don't forget to drain them. I had to use less water, and cut out the liquid smoke (can't get here). I then used salt and pepper to taste. These beans are great on burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Easy and tasty. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I rinsed the beans and cut out the salt entirely as per other reviews. I still wasn't very impressed. To me the smoke flavour didn't seem to belong. My husband liked it however so I still gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Could be good with several alterations, but then it wouldn't be the same recipe. It was VERY salty and I even rinsed the beans off and cut the salt and smoke flavor in half. In the future I wouldn't use any salt or smoke flavoring, not use pepper (other seasonings would flavor it better), use a purple onion and saute before adding it to the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was a great starting recipe. I added a couple of pinches of cumin, a pinch of cayenne, more garlic and a little chili powder and made a quesadilla with salsa and cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
We liked this, even though I didn't think it was anything like refried beans. I halved the recipe, omitted the smoke flavoring (don't care for it) and didn't drain the beans. It was soupy (next time I'll omit the water) but the flavor was good. Will make again with a few changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Prior reviewers have all touched on the points I'll make, but here's my experience: The recipe didn't say whether the canned beans should be drained, so I did drain them. Good thing, as the recipe for me turned out to be a bit watery. I cooked it for 2 extra minutes, and still let it stand for a couple of minutes to thicken up a little. thought this was way too salty (since the canned beans already had salt). I may omit the added salt entirely if I make this again. Also, I thought the liquid smoke flavor was way too strong, so I might cut that in half.This recipe has potential, I think, but it didn't work for me with the ingredient quantities as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I think this recipe has promise so I rated it with 4 stars. I used one can of black beans slightly drained. I decreased the salt and pepper as other reviewers suggested and still was surprised by how salty it was. I added water like the recipe called for and it made it edible but too watery. On the whole it had a good flavor and I will make this again with next to no salt in it. I did add a pinch of cumin. Good recipe after some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States