Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for. We had asada from the grill and tossed it onto tortillas with these beans and some home-made guacamole. They were just right for the purpose and healthier than the kind you buy at the store. I even left out the salt. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I have been making these for years and absolutely love them! The only change I make is leaving out the liquid smoke...I just didn't have it on hand the first time I made it and have never thought to add it since! Thanks for this recipe! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was quite easy! I too used pinto beans in stead of the black beans. I sauteed an onion and garlic on low heat until translucent. I added the other ingredients including the cumin and mashed it up. I used it to fill a wrap with guacamole and shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
A good base. As others said, I prefer cooking my onions and garlic first, and everything a bit more blended. However, I will continue using this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Delicious! I like my onions very well cooked, and so I sauted them in "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!" (I know-not fat-free), and then added the remaining ingredients as directed. I used chicken broth in place of water, added some cumin, and in the last few minutes of cooking added a handful of chopped cilantro. Great in burritoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I make these at least every other week! They are easy and delicious and even my kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
One of my staple recipes. So good, and I never use liquid smoke. I use half a packed of oxo bouillon in the water as well. You can use any kind of beans, and if you have a food processor it makes life easier than if mashing the beans. Excellent with Refried Bean Enchiladas from Taste of Home on this site! My family always wants that when I have them over. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These turned out very well, but this recipe is a bit flawed in my opinion (which I would have known prior to making it had I read the reviews...). From the start I cut the salt and liquid smoke down significantly because it just seemed like an awful lot of both. There was way too much liquid for 2 cups of beans, even after trying to cook it down. I added another can of beans (mashed about half) at that point. They were a bit bland so I added a little chili powder and cumin. Turned out *very* tasty. Will make again with modifications. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I will never buy canned refried beans again. This recipe is easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were pretty good, but very salty! I ended up adding an extra 1/2 cup of water and 1 cup of extra beans. With that addition, these were good. I also cut the pepper down to 1/2 tsp. and I am glad I did, because there was plenty of heat in the finished product. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States