Fat Free Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I thought the liquid smoke flavor was a little much - I dont really taste that flavor in any other refried beans I have had. Easy to make though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I thought this was way, way too runny. It needs more beans. Even with using many of the adjustments that fellow reviewers recommended, it just wasn't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
5 stars with these changes: used 2 (15oz) cans pintos (drained & rinsed), added chili powder and cumin, used only 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and just a DASH of liquid smoke, mashed the whole thing in the pan. Quicker and VERY flavorful! Since I drained and rinsed the beans, I did need the water. Great with a few tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
We did not care for the liquid smoke flavor. I will make again and leave the liquid smoke out and add some green chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
the taste was good and i think that the beans were a great combination in a taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
I wondered why prep time was 10 minutes. Usually, prep times are underestimated, but it was mashing the beans that took the longest. The confusion on how much water to add to this recipe might be because the recipe doesn't specify whether or not you're supposed to drain the beans. I didn't drain them and added zero water and they were still pretty runny. I used pinto beans also. I've never eaten refried beans made from anything else (here in New Mexico). I agree that 1 tsp salt and liquid smoke are too much. In particular, 1/4 tsp liquid smoke is plenty unless you really like the overpowering taste of it. I liked this recipe a lot better than canned refried beans, but will adjust the seasonings more and maybe add a few others next time I make it. My family did like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Great recipe!! I was a little short on ingredients, so I subsituted a bit, but they still came out great! I used a chopped up chipotle pepper instead of the liquid smoke, and french's fried onions instead of the real. That obviously makes it not fat-free, but it didn't matter to me, where I ate them with cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Great tasting refried beans. I added cumin, beef boullion and changed liquid smoke to 1/4tsp. I also used pinto beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Awesome! Easy! Healthy! Yum! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Thank you for a refried bean recipe than is not fattening! The beans were very delicious. They were a little on the hot side, so next time we will probably add less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States