Fast and Easy Tofu Lo-Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
this didnt really taste liek lo mein, but it was tasty...the only concern is the sodium content of the ramen noodles. otherwise quick easy cheap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I swear I reviewed this at one point! This is a recipe I've been making for the past 5 years. It's very good- better than you would expect from looking at the very basic ingredients. Ramen isn't something I enjoy very much (overindulged in my younger years!) but I really like this recipe and so does my husband. It's actually one of the first things I cooked for him when we were dating and he was very skeptical of the tofu but it won him over! I like to use 2 T of soy sauce and add 1/2 T sesame oil at the end. I suggest using the Oriental noodles because the spice packet adds a lot of flavor. We like to eat this with edamame :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe but it really was a waste of tofu. I had my tofu nicely browned and crispy and put in the veggies and seasoning packets and it was quite dry and was hard to mix together, so I tried adding some pasta water and my tofu got soggy :~( then I mixed in the drained sticky noodles and it was even drier. All that aside it's also awfully unhealthy. Too bad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Not sure if I did something wrong, but my tofu soaked up all the oil and tasted very oily. I did freeze my tofu, thawed and got rid of water. I'll try baking them next time. The noodles, stir-fry and seasoning tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Really good for as fast as it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Loved this. 2 tablespoons of olive oil was not enough though. the tofu stuck to the pan almost immediately on medium high. I added another tbsp of olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic power, and then a little water when I added the frozen veggies. Super easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe has it all. Fast, easy, tasty, cheap, versatile. I can make this once a week and not hear gripes, because I just use whatever vegetables I have on hand, whatever meat I have on hand, and whatever noodles I want to switch things up. The recipe as-is is fine. The man of the house doesn't care for tofu (he says it makes his teeth hurt) so I can switch in any other protein. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! One of those 'why didn't I think of that' moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
A great weeknight supper! When the noodles were nearly done, I threw a handful of fresh green beans in the pot, boiled for a few more minutes, drained, and added to my tofu. Draining the tofu really well prior to frying is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
First off lol @ the people saying "This tastes like ramen with vegetables!" that's ... what it is. XD The meal isn't going to magically turn into something else, I mean what? I actually tried this with shrimp flavored ramen, and shrimp instead of tofu. It was a good flavor and very easy and quick to make. I think it is missing something though. I did add a little garlic and hot pepper flakes as well. I will definitely experiment with this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by raleighguy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
The main ingredients cost less than $5. I am so full after eating this. Recipe turned out perfect (see my picture). This was the first time I had ever cooked tofu. Instead of using oil, I used 2 tbsp of butter and let it melt. Browned the tofu till it was slightly crips on all fours. I used japanese stir fry mix from the grocers freezer and it already had its own soy sauce in it. Ohhh and while the tofu fried, I had lightly seasoned it. My noodles came out perfect and the liquid consistency couldnt have been better. You gotta cook the noodles longer than 2 minutes or else it will taste dry like cardboard. Again perfect and cheap and excellent for a beginner. Cant wait to try more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States