Fast and Easy Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Good but it seems to be missing something. I liked it, but most likely because I love cream cheese! I also changed the soup to cream of mushroom instead like other reviewers because cream of chicken just didn't seem to go with hamburger. My 5 year old didn't like it, but my husband also gave it 3-4 stars. I would give it 3 1/2 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Not quite sure why people are so down on this recipe. It's a nice, moist casserole, and the biscuits on top are a great contrast in terms of taste and texture. I will grant you that if you don't add a bit of additional seasoning, it's a bit bland, so I typically add some onion salt and paprika, but for my family, that's all we need. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGM429

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This dish was wonderful!! It was quick, easy and delicious. Cut the milk in half next time cuz too soupy. The taste is unique with a wonderful aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
The first time I made this dish, I was so glad it was just for me and hubby. THIS time, I did as recomended, added salsa and cr. of mushroom soup PLUS... after spraying bottom of the dish with Crisco or whatever you have, I lined it with frozen hash browns. Cook an extra (app.) 8 min.. Will DEFINITELY make it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran White Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My husband LOVED this - with modifications. Used cooked sliced potatoes for bottom of casserole (for this reason I think the casserole tasted like a loaded baked potato). Used about 1/2 c of salsa instead of ketchup. Used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken. Mixed my own biscuits with Bisquick and dropped them onto the casserole then covered cooked biscuits with melted butter. My husband's unsolicited response: "Definitely make this again, please!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Like everyone else I changed it up a bit! I've learned that cream of chicken and beef just don't jive well. Anyway, I browned the meat with onion soup mix, and used tomato soup instead. Layered that mixture ontop of mashed potatoes as others did. Topped that with shredded cheese, we used jack since that was what I had. Topped with the biscuits and cooked them until they were done. I suggest lifting one on the end and checking to make sure. It takes about 20-25 mins. for the biscuits to cook. Kids & hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Delicious..next time I am going to add sliced potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
After reading reviews, I also changed this a bit. I used instant mashed potatoes ("loaded baked potato" flavor) for the bottom layer of the baking dish. Then I browned ground beef and added lipton onion soup mix. I used cream of mushroom soup and omited the ketchup, as others suggested, but we did not have any cream cheese. The meat mixture was spread ontop of the mashed potato layer, and then buscuit dough was placed on top of the meat mixture. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, but the biscuits were still undercooked on the bottom. All in all, my husband and son liked it, but it was just okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I think this recipe was delicious. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and we just absolutely enjoyed it! I am grateful for your recipe it made an easy dinner! so thanks. Also I didnt use cream cheese because we didnt have any on hand and i used cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken because we only had mushroom. so we did a few changes but i am going to try the original one soon. and thanks it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States