Fast and Easy Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Good/Easy! Used refrig. crescent rolls instead of biscuits, 1/2 can cream of mushroom instead of chicken. Added a litte hot sauce, med. onion, and plenty of garlic. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
made this for family dinner last night. basically doubled for 5 adults and 3 kids. Still only 1 cream cheese though, C of Mush instead of chicken, 1 fresh red bell, green bell, onion, mushrooms, garlic, corn salsa instead of ketchup... consistency was good... basically there were 2 biscuits left out of the 16 left so I think it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I kind of understand why this recipe got so many negative reviews here (more than most recipes I've seen, I think). The recipe is quick and easy, and has that comfort-food feel, but it's just a little weird, I think. I made this exactly as written, using 85% lean ground beef, "98% fat free" soup, and the biscuits were 10 buttermilk ones. Also, it took about 17 minutes to get the biscuits to be a bit "golden brown". This made two fairly big dinners for me, and I did gobble it down, but I wouldn't say it's especially tasty. I should note that the advice to soften the cream-cheese and mix it well should really be emphasized. I thought I did a decent job of it, and even mixed the dish some more while baking (just before putting the biscuits on). Even after all that, the finished dish still had little bits of cream cheese visible. I'm not a huge cream-cheese fan, and I wish it'd been fully melted and dispersed throughout the dish. I've only bought refrigerated biscuits a couple of times in my life, and one of the best things about making this was that I discovered a very nice brand of them. This was a slightly interesting recipe, but I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I've made a recipe very similar but (sorry) better than this for more than 20 years....Add a finely diced small onion to the browning hamburger and use cream of mushroom instead of chicken. No ketchup. After putting the hamburger mixture in a baking dish, I sprinkle with diced green olives--maybe a 1/4 cup. They add an unexpected but nice flavor. I layer with homemade biscuits--seriously, they only take a couple minutes to make, and are so much better than canned. Sprinkle lightly with paprika, then bake till biscuits are golden and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogue, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I did add instant mashed potatoes as a bottom crust. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I would really say it was a 3.5. But, since they site does not offer that I will give it a four. I did not follow the directions exactly, though. I added garlic and onions to the hamburger and added a can of cream of mushroom along with the cream of chicken. I thought I would just omit the ketchup because all the reviews talked about how gross it was. After taking a taste, though I thought something was missing, it was the ketchup. It gave it a little kick. Defiantly cut the cream cheese in half though. I placed this over noodles instead of baking it as a casserole. My family thought it was way better than hamburger helper. It was really quick and easy. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. AFter reading some of the reviews I made a few changes. I added 2 cans of Cream of Mushroom soup and a can of green beans. The biscuits were wonderful on top and really made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is really just a variation on a hamburger gravy that you serve over top of the baked biscuits. It's not a gourmet recipe and probably not something to serve to company... That being said, we love this for quick weeknight dinners. I can't believe I haven't rated this yet, we make this about once a month or so! We like how quick/easy/cheap it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good. A kid pleaser. I did make a mashed potato bottom since I felt that it would be too much bread otherwise. It was awesome. I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Photo by kittiedollxd
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My boyfriend and I had made this dish last night, and we aboustly LOVE it! It reminds me of a stroganoff dish. It's quick and easy, very tasty. The ingredients are quite odd and I honestly didnt think it would taste so good. I would recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittiedollxd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States