Fast and Easy French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I like the recipe the way it's written and with some of the suggested changes. It's much better than what I can buy and I usually have all these ingredients on hand, so I can make it when I want instead of having to get it on my grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I make this all the time and my guests always lick the bowl clean! I omit the dried onions since the onion soup mix I use already contains some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was great! I did however use all fat-full ingredients. I am just bad that way.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
A big hit in this house. I did leave out the green onion, just because I find it a little overpowering. One friend said he could eat this with a spoon and I don't think he was joking. Thanks so much Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Love this dip. my family just gobbled it up;) we just put 3 ingredients together sour cream, mayo, 1/2 pouch our onion soup mix. Very very tasty... will not be buying from the store again. Excellent with just plain ripple chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is SO easy and I can't believe how many people have asked me for the recipe! It's almost embarrassing to tell friends how to make it- it's THAT simple. It's a pretty standard tasting onion dip; the spectacular part is the simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I make this now with my own homemade onion soup "mix", which is a little healthier than the packaged without the added MSG plus it's vegan-friendly. I do add just a touch garlic powder and up the chopped green onion a bit. This is a great recipe to have on hand for unexpected guests or last minute get-togethers. NOTE: This is a great low-cal topping for roasted veggies and I like to dip organic carrot chips in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Fast - yes, easy - yes, but if you don't like the aftertaste produced by non-fat dairy then I recommend using reduced or low-fat versions. I used Hellman's light mayo and reduced fat sour cream. I also left out the additional dried minced onion and salt as there's plenty in the dry onion soup mix. I put this in the fridge for a few hours before serving to let the flavors come together and just before serving I topped it off with the chopped green onion. Very good with assorted veggies and of course - ruffle cut chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Of all the ingredients listed,I only had the fat free sour cream. I mixed in 1/2 cup of light mayo and about 1 Tbsn. of McCormick 'California Style' onion powder.Good enough to go with my baked lays on a friday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My mom used to make this using just the sour cream and the onion soup. You don't need the whole package if you don't want a dip that's too strong. Start with the sour cream and the add a bit of soup and taste as you go along. The taste gets stronger as it sits. If you want some lighter fat potato chips to go with this, make your own! Slice whole potatoes (fairly thinly) rince in cold water, then dry. Line a baking tray with grease proof paper, spread the potatoes in one layer, brush lightly with olive oil and bake around 15 mns at 400 degrees in a preheated oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States