Fast and Easy French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Fast - yes, easy - yes, but if you don't like the aftertaste produced by non-fat dairy then I recommend using reduced or low-fat versions. I used Hellman's light mayo and reduced fat sour cream. I also left out the additional dried minced onion and salt as there's plenty in the dry onion soup mix. I put this in the fridge for a few hours before serving to let the flavors come together and just before serving I topped it off with the chopped green onion. Very good with assorted veggies and of course - ruffle cut chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
If you just do the sour cream, mayonnaise, and dry onion soup it's pretty good. The dry onion soup has dried onions in it already along with plenty of salt and pepper. If you want to add a little color, just sprinkle a little green onion on top then the little curtain climbers can dip around the 'green stuff'. Also, let it chill for at least a couple of hours so the dried onions will soften. Better yet, do 1 day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I took the advice of leaving out the green onion, minced onion, salt, and pepper. So I just used the nonfat sour cream, light mayonnaise, and onion soup mix (I used Wyler's), and it turned out great! I love it so much better than any store bought dip, and it is really low in fat! I gave this 4 stars just because of the changes in the recipe. This is a new favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Wow! We love Onion dip, but the onion was a little too strong in this one. I think the addition of the green onion is a nice touch, for adults, but the kids spent too much time trying to pick the "green stuff" out. I might try adjusting some of the ingredients and try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I make this all the time and my guests always lick the bowl clean! I omit the dried onions since the onion soup mix I use already contains some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My mom used to make this using just the sour cream and the onion soup. You don't need the whole package if you don't want a dip that's too strong. Start with the sour cream and the add a bit of soup and taste as you go along. The taste gets stronger as it sits. If you want some lighter fat potato chips to go with this, make your own! Slice whole potatoes (fairly thinly) rince in cold water, then dry. Line a baking tray with grease proof paper, spread the potatoes in one layer, brush lightly with olive oil and bake around 15 mns at 400 degrees in a preheated oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I was not a fan of this, although I might try it with some of the things suggested in the reviews. I may be odd, but I LOVE the store bought Dean's French Onion, and this, as made according to the recipe, just didn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was great! I did however use all fat-full ingredients. I am just bad that way.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Of all the ingredients listed,I only had the fat free sour cream. I mixed in 1/2 cup of light mayo and about 1 Tbsn. of McCormick 'California Style' onion powder.Good enough to go with my baked lays on a friday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is SO easy and I can't believe how many people have asked me for the recipe! It's almost embarrassing to tell friends how to make it- it's THAT simple. It's a pretty standard tasting onion dip; the spectacular part is the simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States