Fast and Easy French Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Fast - yes, easy - yes, but if you don't like the aftertaste produced by non-fat dairy then I recommend using reduced or low-fat versions. I used Hellman's light mayo and reduced fat sour cream. I also left out the additional dried minced onion and salt as there's plenty in the dry onion soup mix. I put this in the fridge for a few hours before serving to let the flavors come together and just before serving I topped it off with the chopped green onion. Very good with assorted veggies and of course - ruffle cut chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This dip was easy enough to make, but it was too salty. I recommend adding more green onion and using only half a packet of the onion soup mix- and not adding the minced dried onion at all. I made it as stated, but it still was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is SO easy and I can't believe how many people have asked me for the recipe! It's almost embarrassing to tell friends how to make it- it's THAT simple. It's a pretty standard tasting onion dip; the spectacular part is the simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I make this now with my own homemade onion soup "mix", which is a little healthier than the packaged without the added MSG plus it's vegan-friendly. I do add just a touch garlic powder and up the chopped green onion a bit. This is a great recipe to have on hand for unexpected guests or last minute get-togethers. NOTE: This is a great low-cal topping for roasted veggies and I like to dip organic carrot chips in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Adding the green onions helped and it had a good taste, however, be warned that this can be very salty!! I'm not sure if it varies among the onion soup mixes, but ours ended up a little salty. Overall, it's better than the pre-made store, but again beware the saltiness ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Baird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This dip is pretty good, but I thought the onion overpowered it....I'll stick to my version of 1 16oz carton of sour cream and 1 package dry onion soup mix, mix and refridgerate a few hours until flavors meld and onions soften. It's so easy that we never buy onion dip at the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My mom used to make this using just the sour cream and the onion soup. You don't need the whole package if you don't want a dip that's too strong. Start with the sour cream and the add a bit of soup and taste as you go along. The taste gets stronger as it sits. If you want some lighter fat potato chips to go with this, make your own! Slice whole potatoes (fairly thinly) rince in cold water, then dry. Line a baking tray with grease proof paper, spread the potatoes in one layer, brush lightly with olive oil and bake around 15 mns at 400 degrees in a preheated oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Love this dip. my family just gobbled it up;) we just put 3 ingredients together sour cream, mayo, 1/2 pouch our onion soup mix. Very very tasty... will not be buying from the store again. Excellent with just plain ripple chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
A big hit in this house. I did leave out the green onion, just because I find it a little overpowering. One friend said he could eat this with a spoon and I don't think he was joking. Thanks so much Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I was not a fan of this, although I might try it with some of the things suggested in the reviews. I may be odd, but I LOVE the store bought Dean's French Onion, and this, as made according to the recipe, just didn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States