Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was a bit skeptical of this at first, but this was absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I loved this recipe! I prefer a 'smooth" black bean so when finished cooking I pureed it in a blender. It took me straight back to Mexico (where I think the best black bean soup is found). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very hearty - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Both my husband and I loved it (and he's not a fan of soups, or beans, or veggies). My adjustments include: subbing 1 can of refried black beans for 1 can of black beans, thereby eliminating need for blender. Used red bell pepper instead of green (YUM), garlic powder instead of garlic, 2 carrots instead of 1, omitted ham because none on hand, added juice of 1/2 a lime. It was fabulous! Garnished with fresh cilantro, sour cream, salsa, fried tortilla strips. Will definitely make again. This is a very mild version, could spice it up if preferred. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and our whole family likes it. I have made it with a can of refried beans instead of blended black beans, and we prefer it that way. I also add extra carrots and garlic, and pass on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
AMAZING!!! I added an extra carrot and 1/2 tsp cumin. Once I added all the ingedients, I used an immersion blender and blended the whole soup. I served it with cheese and fried tortilla strips. This is absolutely delicious and will become a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Fantastic! I left out the peppers, cumin, and used chicken instead. I don't eat this without sour cream and tortilla chips on top. My husband loves this and he's not a big soup person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Followed this recipe except the carrots (didn't have any on hand).... yum! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyanat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Love it! And it really is fast and easy. I add a can of diced tomatoes and a cup of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States