Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I did make some of the suggested changes. I used a red pepper, 1 stalk of celery, about 1/4 C. of frozen corn, a healthy dash of cayenne, 4 cloves of garlic and 1/2 tsp. of cumin. Once done, I stirred in the juice of 1/2 a fresh lime. Also, I salted the veggies while sauteing in the beginning, so I didn't use any more in the recipe. Garnished with sour cream, salsa, cilantro, and finely grated cheddar-jack cheese. We had corn muffins on the side to dip in the soup. My husband, who is not a big bean eater loved it. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Both my husband and I loved it (and he's not a fan of soups, or beans, or veggies). My adjustments include: subbing 1 can of refried black beans for 1 can of black beans, thereby eliminating need for blender. Used red bell pepper instead of green (YUM), garlic powder instead of garlic, 2 carrots instead of 1, omitted ham because none on hand, added juice of 1/2 a lime. It was fabulous! Garnished with fresh cilantro, sour cream, salsa, fried tortilla strips. Will definitely make again. This is a very mild version, could spice it up if preferred. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Made this the other evening and we LOVED it! Made it exactly as written but left out the ham. I ran it all through the food processor, thinking that I wanted a little texture in the soup, but after trying it, I think I'd prefer it being smoother. Next time I will use the blender and puree it. It was kind of a weird color and looked a little strange while cooking, but it tasted fantastic! It was even better for lunch the next day! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I loved this recipe! I prefer a 'smooth" black bean so when finished cooking I pureed it in a blender. It took me straight back to Mexico (where I think the best black bean soup is found). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
AMAZING!!! I added an extra carrot and 1/2 tsp cumin. Once I added all the ingedients, I used an immersion blender and blended the whole soup. I served it with cheese and fried tortilla strips. This is absolutely delicious and will become a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was a bit skeptical of this at first, but this was absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a big hit among my vegetarian, vegan, and meat-eating roommates! Loved it. I skipped the ham and the green pepper. It reheated very well. I served it with cheddar biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My modifications included red pepper instead of green, sea salt, 2 stalks celery, 2 carrots, lots more cumin, adobo and cayenne pepper. I also used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. It was great and hearty and thick. I omitted the ham, sour creeam and cheese because I am vegetarian, I think next tiem I will add tomatos for more of a chili feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I changed a few ingredients to make this lower in salt and calories. I used two very large red peppers, one can of organic black beans and one can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Instead of ham, I used one package ground turkey that I browned and drained. After tasting it, I did add a couple more spices, like ground california chile pepper, oregano, coriander, a little more cumin, paprika and a little fresh lime juice. I also added one can organic tomato sauce. I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked it on low for most of the day and we all enjoyed this quite a bit. Very cost effective and very filling, with a side of low fat/low sugar cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and our whole family likes it. I have made it with a can of refried beans instead of blended black beans, and we prefer it that way. I also add extra carrots and garlic, and pass on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States