Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup definitely got better over time and the cheese and sour cream on top is a must. It definitely needs the fat from the ham, although I wonder if hot sausage might be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A delicious and oh-so-easy black bean soup. I did not use carrots nor ham, but followed the recipe exactly as is, adding the juice of about 1/2 lime (which, to me, was a critical ingredient!). Also what makes this soup SO good are the toppings: I had bowls of sour cream, shredded cheddar, cilantro and fresh salsa for adding as desired. Simply delicious when all are added!! This soup is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very good! I made this tonight with awesome results. Extremely quick and simple to throw together, and very tasty. I made a few adjustments: I added an entire heaping teaspoon of cumin, a bit less salt, and a lot of pepper. My blender is broken so I couldn't puree the beans but I don't think this was a problem. Also didn't have a bell pepper or carrot on hand but the soup came out extremely well anyway. I'm definitely going to be making LOTS more very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have any carrots, so I added 2 stalks of celery instead. I used half a red pepper and half a green pepper. I also didn't have any ham, so I just added a little ham soup base. I did simmer it for a bit longer than the recipe called for just because I like my soup to be a little thicker. I mashed some of the beans up with my potato masher too. But the flavor was really good - I'm glad I don't have to search for a great black bean soup recipe anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The name of the recipe is right...it is fast and delicious.....this was so enjoyable....i know i can also enjoy this without the ham.....either way it would be great depending on diet needs.....i did like others and added the extra carrot and also made pop up dough and rolled it with cheddar inside....everyone enjoyed this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My modifications included red pepper instead of green, sea salt, 2 stalks celery, 2 carrots, lots more cumin, adobo and cayenne pepper. I also used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. It was great and hearty and thick. I omitted the ham, sour creeam and cheese because I am vegetarian, I think next tiem I will add tomatos for more of a chili feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Really good, really easy recipe! I had to skip the ham and carrot because I didn't have them on hand, but it turned out just perfect. Everyone was impressed! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars for how easy it was and it came out really yummy! I wouldn't compare it to a slow cooked bean soup that has simmered all day, but it really was good. I omitted the green peppers and added a can of diced green chilis and I added a couple of teaspoons of chili powder. This will stay on my list for super quick tasty meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
5 stars just because this recipe is so versitile. I used left over shredded pork instead of ham and added an extra carrot and more broth and more cumin. Really tasty and easy! Served with the buttery corn bread recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My hubby loved this!! I made some changes as suggested by others: Red bell pepper instead of green, 2 carrots, double the cumin (my hub added tobasco to his) and I served it in a sourdough bread bowl. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States