Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe. I just added 2 tbs chopped chillies a dash or two of cayenne pepper and some chopped celery to heat it up a bit. Thanks Floporama, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
We thought this tasted pretty good. Mixing in the sour cream made a big difference. The down side to this dish was its appearance. It looks pretty nasty. My son asked me what color it was and my bro-in-law said it tasted a whole lot better than it looked. I didn't have any ham but used diced chicken and it was fine. I will make this again with the ham and see which we like better. I appreciated that was so quick and easy to prepare and get to the table. I would recommend this recipe just don't serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
FANTASTIC! very quick and easy. The only changes I made were adding a shallot, juice from half a lime, a splash of hot sauce, and a dash of chili powder for some oomph. I also used a turkey keilbasa instead of ham. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is very well titled. This went together very quickly and tasted great. I don't eat pork so I skipped the ham but made no other alterations. We topped the soup with salsa a sprinkle of cheese and a dollop of sour cream...this went great with some left over grilled chicken breast from the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is delicious!! Very fast and easy too. I followed the directions pretty closely the only thing I changes was to use a red pepper instead of green, just because I had one that needed to be used. I've used a lot of soup/stew recipes from this website and this one is by far my favorite! I will definately keep this and make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Just flat out delicious. I didn't have ham so I used chicken and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
AWESOME and so healthy. I'm vegetarian so I used veggie broth and omited the ham. I also added about a tbsp on lime juice. Easy 5*'s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing. Made it exactly as listed. Only I never serve the sour cream and cheese on top. I stir it all in together then serve the soup. Everyone in the house loved it from the 6yo to the 14yo to my bf who is a cook!!! Thank you for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe; it’s fast and fairly nutritious. I used another member’s advice and used my emersion blender so I could get just the right texture between the beans and the veggies. I mostly made it to take to work by my boyfriend couldn’t resist trying it and he loves it! The only reason why I rated it a four versus a five is there was just too much ham for me. I did use a red bell pepper instead of green. Overall a great easy recipe!! Leftovers are great, one pot can make a several lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDFARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup definitely got better over time and the cheese and sour cream on top is a must. It definitely needs the fat from the ham, although I wonder if hot sausage might be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States