Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used 2 cans black beans & 1/2 can of refried pinto beans because it was still a little thin for my taste. No ham for us, and used cayenne & more cumin. Red bell pepper & red onions were a great addition. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
i found this to be a little thin although very tasty. not my favorite black bean soup recipe--i would have preferred at least another can of beans--it was weak in that area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a favorite of my 3 boys, husband (who hates soup) and myself. I used the exact ingredients, but added 1 extra can of beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes. I didnt puree, but allowed all the ingredients to simmer for an hour (after cooking the veggies) I serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
OMG-So good! I cooked our Christmas ham bone in 4 cups chicken broth/4 cups water until I could get all the meat off. Strained the cooking liquid and used it in the soup. Pretty much followed the rest of the recipe except put all the beans in whole as hubby likes our soups "brothy". This was delicious!! I even made Mexican cornbread to go with-YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe. I just added 2 tbs chopped chillies a dash or two of cayenne pepper and some chopped celery to heat it up a bit. Thanks Floporama, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
We thought this tasted pretty good. Mixing in the sour cream made a big difference. The down side to this dish was its appearance. It looks pretty nasty. My son asked me what color it was and my bro-in-law said it tasted a whole lot better than it looked. I didn't have any ham but used diced chicken and it was fine. I will make this again with the ham and see which we like better. I appreciated that was so quick and easy to prepare and get to the table. I would recommend this recipe just don't serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
FANTASTIC! very quick and easy. The only changes I made were adding a shallot, juice from half a lime, a splash of hot sauce, and a dash of chili powder for some oomph. I also used a turkey keilbasa instead of ham. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is very well titled. This went together very quickly and tasted great. I don't eat pork so I skipped the ham but made no other alterations. We topped the soup with salsa a sprinkle of cheese and a dollop of sour cream...this went great with some left over grilled chicken breast from the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is delicious!! Very fast and easy too. I followed the directions pretty closely the only thing I changes was to use a red pepper instead of green, just because I had one that needed to be used. I've used a lot of soup/stew recipes from this website and this one is by far my favorite! I will definately keep this and make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Just flat out delicious. I didn't have ham so I used chicken and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States