Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fanastic recipes! Added flour cloves of garlic, extra carrots, two stalks of celery, a tomato, 1/2 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne. Removed ham and pureed the soup after cooking. I even replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth one time to make it vegan, and had to replace one can of black beans with red kidney beans when I ran out and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This turned out great!!! I doubled the cumin, and added about a teaspoon of a blackening season mix that I had. I made this in the morning for lunch, gave my husband a taste and he ended up eating it for breakfast! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This makes a great tasting bean soup. I was using another recipe that called for one can of bean soup as a garnish. As, I did not have it on hand, I was very happy to find this little work around. It was so easy it felt like cheating. I liked it because nothing complicated with spices and the refried beans give it the desired texture. It was so yummy, I will be using it again to combine with other mexcian meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love this! I make a triple batch once a month and freeze it. It works great to pull out for lunch. It's 5 Weight watchers points per serving (4 servings per batch).. it's filling and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Awesome! I only had 1 can of black beans, so used a can of black eyed peas, and used half a regular onion, sauteed with garlic. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of 1.5. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this was great, just like several reviews said the color was hard to get over, but my husband and kids loved it after the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is very good just as it was written and I am rating it as such. I do variations for a vegetarian soup by leaving out meat, adding carrots, celery and more (vegetable) broth and cumin. I reserve half a can of beans and I blend it all together after cooking. Then I return it to the pot to reheat and then add the remainder of the beans and throw in some frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I liked it - Shem was underwhelmed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe has become a regular part of our family dining. My husband and kids all request this. Like others have suggested, I prefer an extra can of black beans, and use a large onion and bell pepper. Rather than blend the black beans before adding them to the soup, I wait until the soup has cooked, then use a hand emulsion blender to blend some of it right in the cookware. As an added benefit - my son doesn't like carrots and my daughter doesen't like green peppper...but when it's blended into the soup and the can't see it...they love it! :-) I also like to make this with cornbread, and we have begun crumbling the cornbread right into the soup. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Amazing soup. Took some of the suggestions posted here and increased the cumin to a half teaspoon and added lime juice. Also, because I'm a huge fan of spicy food, I substituted the green pepper for a jalapeno and added a dash or two of crushed red pepper. Didn't produce as much heat as I would have like, which is ok, since the other eating the meal seemed content with the level of spiciness. If I was to make it again, I may throw in an extra pepper. The meal tasted good, was filling, and is a great way to get in some protein and vegetables. This is likely going to be my go to recipe for when I want black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States