Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was so delicious! I used the hints suggested including red bell pepper, tomatoes, a squeeze of lime, cayenne, and refried beans instead of blending. I also nixed the ham and thereby much of the sodium. Not only was it fast, easy, and cheap, but nutritional as well. Truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layfenci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used a red pepper instead of green and omitted the ham. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup is delicious. The only change I made was to cut up chunks of Polilsa Kilbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was quick to make and absolutely delicious over some long grain rice and topped with cheddar. It's also a great final destination for left over roasts and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrDub2001

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious! I replaced green bell pepper with red and yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
For how fast and easy this recipe is, I was surprised by the results. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wow! This was my first attempt at black bean soup, and this recipe is a keeper. I took some of the suggestions from other reviewers, and used one can of refried beans and one of black beans, omitted the ham, carrots, and cumin, (didn't have any) and used a chili pepper instead of a bell pepper. I put it all in the blender after I sauteed the vegetables, then returned it to the pot to simmer. I also added lime juice, cayenne, and some tapatio. I am a very picky eater, and my husband isn't a big fan of soups, black beans or anything without meat, but we both actually really liked it! We had it for dinner, then the following day we added some more cheese (mexican blend) to thicken it up a bit and ate it with chips for lunch. Super yummy, our 3 year old even liked it! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I loved this, in spite of not being a bell pepper fan--tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tunebeach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this as a pick-me-up during a bad cold I had this week, and it was perfect! I left out the carrot and added another cup of beans and pureed all of it until smooth. I actually pureed it early on and only sauted and simmered half the time it called for (I like things a little more on the raw side), and it was awesome still. Chopped cilantro on the top was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I used bacon instead of ham. If it seems like too much bacon then you obviously hate bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States