Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I've made this several times and it always comes out great. It really is fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was pretty good. I might try it again with some of the suggestions of increasing the cumin or adding a stalk or two of celery. Although it was good, the Black Bean and Salsa Soup recipe is still my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This soup is delicious!!! A basic, easy recipe but sooo tasty! I will definitely keep making it. I have been adding one more can of beans because I wanted it thicker, but after reading reviews, I think all I need to do is puree it all together once it's cooked. Otherwise, it's more liquidy and soup-like. We prefer it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I will definitely make this again...and again. The sour cream and cheese at serving are musts. I rated 4 but it's a 4.5 for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I was skeptical about this but I wanted to do something with leftover ham. I couldn't believe how good it turned out, my kids even loved it! Great/easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Delicious! I substituted a few things to avoid going to the grocery store. We had a ton of black beans left over from making black bean burgers the previous night (not canned, they soaked x 2 nights). After rinsing beans I boiled them in chicken broth for about 30-45 mins. I think the big hit was that I added lots of chorizo instead of ham and didn't measure but a lot more cumin and some paprika. We also added celery since we had it. It was even better the next day. Next time I will not hesitate to make a huge batch and freeze some or take to a potluck or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Yum, so good and really fast to make to! Like another reviewer suggested I used red pepper and 1 can of refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I left out the carrot and used a red bell pepper instead of green. Instead of using canned beans I use dry beans that I cook in advance and freeze. Much less sodium and more economical. The only thing I would change would be to add the ham AFTER pureeing the soup because the ham shreds and gives it a strange stringy texture. Very tasty though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Wonderful, wonderful recipe. The aroma in the house was delightful. I used the suggestion about using a can of refried black beans. That was a big time saver because there was no clean-up. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe for left over ham from the holidays! I also cheated by adding an additional can of refried BLACK beans from Trader Joes (2 regular cans, and 1 can refried). Next time I might kick it up a notch with a jalapeno or cayenne. Super easy and delish (pretty healthy too). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States