Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I pureed the broth, veggies and 1 can of beans for a flavorful base, without veggie chunks....then added the 2nd can of whole beans. 3 cloves of garlic was a bit much, so I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes with cilantro and lime at the end to cut the garlic flavor. Yummy! (Also omitted the ham).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
We substituted onion with scallion and only used one garlic clove. Also added 2 tsp of lime juice on recommendation of other reviews. This is one of my favorite recipes thus far. It is going in my permanent recipe book to make for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Holy Moly! This was my first time making black bean soup and this was FANTASTIC! I doubled the beans and chicken broth and used the refried black beans, which had some jalapenos in them. I also put 1 tsp cumin, some cayenne, some lime juice, and a little celery. I put some tabasco in when serving, and put some diced tomatoes with jalapenos and chives on top. SOOOOO very good - can't wait to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Made this the other evening and we LOVED it! Made it exactly as written but left out the ham. I ran it all through the food processor, thinking that I wanted a little texture in the soup, but after trying it, I think I'd prefer it being smoother. Next time I will use the blender and puree it. It was kind of a weird color and looked a little strange while cooking, but it tasted fantastic! It was even better for lunch the next day! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This soup was very easy and very good. I substituted dried minced garlic for garlic; one red bell pepper for the green pepper; and used one can of refried beans and one can of black bean soup. It was great with cheddar cheese and cilantro on top (sour cream not necessary). If I made this again, I would use more cumin (1 tsp.) and tabasco sauce for more of a kick. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious. I added chopped celery and the suggested lime juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Pantelich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Yum. I loved this soup - very easy to make. I used an immersion blender to blend the beans and veges prior to adding the ham. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a big hit among my vegetarian, vegan, and meat-eating roommates! Loved it. I skipped the ham and the green pepper. It reheated very well. I served it with cheddar biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good and easy. I followed the tip to use one can black beans and one can refried beans to simplify. I did not use ham as I wanted a meatless meal, and also added an extra can of broth. Very satisfying and great flavor. Great with saltine crackers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Love it! And it really is fast and easy. I add a can of diced tomatoes and a cup of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States