Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wow, this was simple and so delicious! I was surprised at how well it turned out, since the ingredients seemed pretty simple. I found this recipe 30 minutes before dinner needed to be on the table and had it done with time to spare. I used scallion onions instead of green onions and omitted the ham. I threw in a little lime juice. It was great! I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Souper easy meal. My 2 and 4 year old loved it. Used 3 cans of beans (blended 2) and used a little celery salt. Added crushed red pepper to my own bowl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was wonderful.. and so filling I only had 1 can of balck bean, but had a can of refired beans, it worked great. As we say in our house this is a 'definate do'er again' recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is very tasty! I was out of fresh garlic and substituted some powdered once the liquids were added, which worked. I also used a red bell pepper instead of green and used two carrots. I bought one can of whole black beans and one can of re-fried black beans, so I didn't have to do the blender part. It makes the soup even faster to make, plus less to clean! I don't think any salt had to be added; the chicken broth was salty enough. But that's my preference. It keeps well, and the leftovers taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
-VERY GOOD- DID NOT USE CHIC BROTH OR HAM- I HAD COOKED PORK IN THE CROCK POT THE OTHER DAY AND USED THE BROTH FROM IT AND SHREDDED PORK- I HAD COOKED MY TRINITY IN THE OIL AS INSTRUCTED, BUT MY HUSBAND DOES NOT LIKE COOKED BELL PEPPERS, ONLY RAW (YEAH, I KNOW), SO I BLENDED IT ALONG WITH MY CAN OF BEANS- YEP, OUTTA SIGHT, OUTTA MIND! WORKS EVERYTIME!!! THIS GAVE A NICE THICKENER- WE ENJOYED THIS!!! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Absolutely loved it. Easy to make and really tasty;the only change I made was use curry powder instead of chili and omited the pepper çause I didn't have one. Still, it came out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I only gave this 4 stars as I did not use all the ingredients listed. I didnt have a pepper on hand so I added some chili powder and red pepper flakes to add heat. I also doubled the cumin and Did not use ham. I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon and extra garlic as we like things garlicky. The recipe is a good base to add your own twist. I did not puree the beans first, i cooked all the ingredients till the flavors came together and used an imersion blender to get the texture I was after. Delicious, even my husband who normally is not a fan of spice in dishes thought this was tasty. I served with a dollop of sour cream and cornbread on the side for a quick and hearty weeknight meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have been searching for a black bean recipe that tastes authentic without a lot of effort. Although, there are many recipes that claim to be authentic they are very involved without the results. This recipe (IMO without the ham) has it all, you can use this recipe or modify to your taste. After trying many recipes, this is going to be my mainstay. I did double the cumin, used about 1/2c ham (because that is all I had), and about 2 teaspoons of vinegar at the end. WE LOVED IT!! Thank you sooo much for posting. We served over yellow rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
If made just as the directions suggest, it is absolutely delicious, but if time permits, try different suggestions if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedchef08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Delicious! This was a great way to use up all the extra ham from Easter. I followed the recipe exactly except for squeezing some lime juice on top and it turned out soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamtown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States