Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Tonight was the first time I made black bean soup and this recipe did not disapoint! I took most of the suggestions and added a carrot to make 2, had 4 cloves of garlic instead of 3, I had a red bell pepper instead of a green, and along with 2 cans of black beans, I added a can of refried black beans and along with cumin added ceyenne pepper and red pepper flakes. Made a wonderful spicy kick. I had no ham on hand. I pureed most of the soup so it would look more appealing to my kids.I just had my kids add sour cream and cheese to over-ride the spice. This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Really good! Came out better than I expected, but I used kidney beans and pinto beans instead of black beans. (Didnt have black beans.) I also decide don't to blend all of it and instead blended about half of the vegetables and bouillon. I also added some Karachi to the pot in order to get a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good! But I did add 1/4 cup of quinoa and did not purée the 2nd can of beans., just put them in with the first one. Will definitely make again, but in the future I will double the recipe and freeze in individual portions. Then ,when serving , add the cheese and sour cream. (I leave out the sour cream on my husband's and he said it was very good. I, on the other hand, loved the dollop of cold sour cream on really hot soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
this is the greatest! added a little cayenne pepper and used one can of refried beans instead of one of the cans of regular beans...........this soup is totally scrumptious! followed the recipe exactly except for the above mentioned changes. will be making this again often, thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yummy, topped with plain yogurt. Puréed,but left a bit chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is great for days when I don't know what to make, or don't want to spend a lot of money. Its quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! My husband is half-cuban, and has been begging for black bean soup, so I tried out this recipe. IT IS AWESOMEEEE!!!! I halved it, as it is just the two of us. I also switched the green bell pepper with about 6 sweet peppers, and the ham with chicken, only because that's what we had. He kept raving about it, that it even tasted cuban! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious. A lot of veggies, healthy too. I did add some home made fried tortilla strips (not as healthy). Will add this as one of my favorite main recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
this is a 4-5 star recipe. I gave is a 4 just because I changed a few things: 1/2 tsp. cumin, and I pureed all but 1/4 c. so that there was a little texture to the soup. It's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHWEEZY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kirtland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We liked this. Added some refried and skipped the blending. This was great with tortilla chips, we also had sweet potato fries and cucumber tomato feta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States