Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Doesn't look like the picture. It looks even better. Made as directed and it was Devine. My children ages 2, 10, 15, and 17 all wanted more. The ham is essential to the overall flavor. If it is omitted, then the taste will be less than perfect. I will, however make this with half the ham next time. There was a lot of ham. Hopefully it will taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi Layton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent soup! I used a can of refried beans instead of blenderizing a can of black beans, and inadvertently added too much liquid by about a cup. I used more cumin as I really like it. otherwise, followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the taste, hubby too. will be making this often!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Wiese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This soup is amazing soup! Absolutely delicious and don't leave off the sour cream and shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Tonight was the first time I made black bean soup and this recipe did not disapoint! I took most of the suggestions and added a carrot to make 2, had 4 cloves of garlic instead of 3, I had a red bell pepper instead of a green, and along with 2 cans of black beans, I added a can of refried black beans and along with cumin added ceyenne pepper and red pepper flakes. Made a wonderful spicy kick. I had no ham on hand. I pureed most of the soup so it would look more appealing to my kids.I just had my kids add sour cream and cheese to over-ride the spice. This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Really good! Came out better than I expected, but I used kidney beans and pinto beans instead of black beans. (Didnt have black beans.) I also decide don't to blend all of it and instead blended about half of the vegetables and bouillon. I also added some Karachi to the pot in order to get a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good! But I did add 1/4 cup of quinoa and did not purée the 2nd can of beans., just put them in with the first one. Will definitely make again, but in the future I will double the recipe and freeze in individual portions. Then ,when serving , add the cheese and sour cream. (I leave out the sour cream on my husband's and he said it was very good. I, on the other hand, loved the dollop of cold sour cream on really hot soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
this is the greatest! added a little cayenne pepper and used one can of refried beans instead of one of the cans of regular beans...........this soup is totally scrumptious! followed the recipe exactly except for the above mentioned changes. will be making this again often, thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yummy, topped with plain yogurt. Puréed,but left a bit chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is great for days when I don't know what to make, or don't want to spend a lot of money. Its quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! My husband is half-cuban, and has been begging for black bean soup, so I tried out this recipe. IT IS AWESOMEEEE!!!! I halved it, as it is just the two of us. I also switched the green bell pepper with about 6 sweet peppers, and the ham with chicken, only because that's what we had. He kept raving about it, that it even tasted cuban! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States