Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
My family and I really liked this! I didn't make any changes and found it to be really tasty and filling. Instead of using the blender, I merely used my stick blender to blend things together right in the pot, which was super convenient. I did double the recipe and had no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Dash of cayenne pepper, lime juice, and paprika. Blend most for thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Fast & Delicious Black Bean Soup Haiku: "Delicious, oh yes! But I made mine, slow, not fast, made it in crockpot." I put everything but 1 can of beans in the crockpot and used my immersion blender on it for a few moments b4 adding that 2nd can of beans. After 6 hrs. on low, I added a healthy handful of chopped cilantro, and we served it w/ tostones, lime wedges, shredded cheddar and additional cilantro. OHWOWOW, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Doesn't look like the picture. It looks even better. Made as directed and it was Devine. My children ages 2, 10, 15, and 17 all wanted more. The ham is essential to the overall flavor. If it is omitted, then the taste will be less than perfect. I will, however make this with half the ham next time. There was a lot of ham. Hopefully it will taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi Layton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent soup! I used a can of refried beans instead of blenderizing a can of black beans, and inadvertently added too much liquid by about a cup. I used more cumin as I really like it. otherwise, followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the taste, hubby too. will be making this often!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Wiese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This soup is amazing soup! Absolutely delicious and don't leave off the sour cream and shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Tonight was the first time I made black bean soup and this recipe did not disapoint! I took most of the suggestions and added a carrot to make 2, had 4 cloves of garlic instead of 3, I had a red bell pepper instead of a green, and along with 2 cans of black beans, I added a can of refried black beans and along with cumin added ceyenne pepper and red pepper flakes. Made a wonderful spicy kick. I had no ham on hand. I pureed most of the soup so it would look more appealing to my kids.I just had my kids add sour cream and cheese to over-ride the spice. This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Really good! Came out better than I expected, but I used kidney beans and pinto beans instead of black beans. (Didnt have black beans.) I also decide don't to blend all of it and instead blended about half of the vegetables and bouillon. I also added some Karachi to the pot in order to get a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good! But I did add 1/4 cup of quinoa and did not purée the 2nd can of beans., just put them in with the first one. Will definitely make again, but in the future I will double the recipe and freeze in individual portions. Then ,when serving , add the cheese and sour cream. (I leave out the sour cream on my husband's and he said it was very good. I, on the other hand, loved the dollop of cold sour cream on really hot soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States