Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I was a bit skeptical of this at first, but this was absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I loved this recipe! I prefer a 'smooth" black bean so when finished cooking I pureed it in a blender. It took me straight back to Mexico (where I think the best black bean soup is found). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Pretty good and easy to make! I skipped out on the ham and used vegetable broth. Great hearty soup and goes well with bread with melted cheese on top. mmmm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Both my husband and I loved it (and he's not a fan of soups, or beans, or veggies). My adjustments include: subbing 1 can of refried black beans for 1 can of black beans, thereby eliminating need for blender. Used red bell pepper instead of green (YUM), garlic powder instead of garlic, 2 carrots instead of 1, omitted ham because none on hand, added juice of 1/2 a lime. It was fabulous! Garnished with fresh cilantro, sour cream, salsa, fried tortilla strips. Will definitely make again. This is a very mild version, could spice it up if preferred. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I used some left-over chicken tenders (not breaded) instead of ham and a yellow pepper since that's all I had. It was pretty fast and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Vega
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
came out great, my family and I look forward too cooking it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
As written, I think this would have been a little bland tasting for me, but it was a very good base to build on. I added about 1tsp. chili powder, a dash of ground cayenne pepper, 1 stalk of celery, a little less salt & about 2Tbsp. of ketchup. In the end, this had really good flavor. My husband wasn't thrilled with the idea of black bean soup, but ate it enthusiastically. Good post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was very good. It is a very substantial soup with all the ham in it. It wasn't quite as fast as I'd hoped, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and our whole family likes it. I have made it with a can of refried beans instead of blended black beans, and we prefer it that way. I also add extra carrots and garlic, and pass on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States