Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Really good, really easy recipe! I had to skip the ham and carrot because I didn't have them on hand, but it turned out just perfect. Everyone was impressed! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars for how easy it was and it came out really yummy! I wouldn't compare it to a slow cooked bean soup that has simmered all day, but it really was good. I omitted the green peppers and added a can of diced green chilis and I added a couple of teaspoons of chili powder. This will stay on my list for super quick tasty meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
5 stars just because this recipe is so versitile. I used left over shredded pork instead of ham and added an extra carrot and more broth and more cumin. Really tasty and easy! Served with the buttery corn bread recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My hubby loved this!! I made some changes as suggested by others: Red bell pepper instead of green, 2 carrots, double the cumin (my hub added tobasco to his) and I served it in a sourdough bread bowl. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
awesome but i did add a bit of cayene pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wow, this was simple and so delicious! I was surprised at how well it turned out, since the ingredients seemed pretty simple. I found this recipe 30 minutes before dinner needed to be on the table and had it done with time to spare. I used scallion onions instead of green onions and omitted the ham. I threw in a little lime juice. It was great! I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Souper easy meal. My 2 and 4 year old loved it. Used 3 cans of beans (blended 2) and used a little celery salt. Added crushed red pepper to my own bowl. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was wonderful.. and so filling I only had 1 can of balck bean, but had a can of refired beans, it worked great. As we say in our house this is a 'definate do'er again' recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is very tasty! I was out of fresh garlic and substituted some powdered once the liquids were added, which worked. I also used a red bell pepper instead of green and used two carrots. I bought one can of whole black beans and one can of re-fried black beans, so I didn't have to do the blender part. It makes the soup even faster to make, plus less to clean! I don't think any salt had to be added; the chicken broth was salty enough. But that's my preference. It keeps well, and the leftovers taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
-VERY GOOD- DID NOT USE CHIC BROTH OR HAM- I HAD COOKED PORK IN THE CROCK POT THE OTHER DAY AND USED THE BROTH FROM IT AND SHREDDED PORK- I HAD COOKED MY TRINITY IN THE OIL AS INSTRUCTED, BUT MY HUSBAND DOES NOT LIKE COOKED BELL PEPPERS, ONLY RAW (YEAH, I KNOW), SO I BLENDED IT ALONG WITH MY CAN OF BEANS- YEP, OUTTA SIGHT, OUTTA MIND! WORKS EVERYTIME!!! THIS GAVE A NICE THICKENER- WE ENJOYED THIS!!! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States