Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Just flat out delicious. I didn't have ham so I used chicken and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
AWESOME and so healthy. I'm vegetarian so I used veggie broth and omited the ham. I also added about a tbsp on lime juice. Easy 5*'s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing. Made it exactly as listed. Only I never serve the sour cream and cheese on top. I stir it all in together then serve the soup. Everyone in the house loved it from the 6yo to the 14yo to my bf who is a cook!!! Thank you for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe; it’s fast and fairly nutritious. I used another member’s advice and used my emersion blender so I could get just the right texture between the beans and the veggies. I mostly made it to take to work by my boyfriend couldn’t resist trying it and he loves it! The only reason why I rated it a four versus a five is there was just too much ham for me. I did use a red bell pepper instead of green. Overall a great easy recipe!! Leftovers are great, one pot can make a several lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDFARM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup definitely got better over time and the cheese and sour cream on top is a must. It definitely needs the fat from the ham, although I wonder if hot sausage might be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A delicious and oh-so-easy black bean soup. I did not use carrots nor ham, but followed the recipe exactly as is, adding the juice of about 1/2 lime (which, to me, was a critical ingredient!). Also what makes this soup SO good are the toppings: I had bowls of sour cream, shredded cheddar, cilantro and fresh salsa for adding as desired. Simply delicious when all are added!! This soup is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very good! I made this tonight with awesome results. Extremely quick and simple to throw together, and very tasty. I made a few adjustments: I added an entire heaping teaspoon of cumin, a bit less salt, and a lot of pepper. My blender is broken so I couldn't puree the beans but I don't think this was a problem. Also didn't have a bell pepper or carrot on hand but the soup came out extremely well anyway. I'm definitely going to be making LOTS more very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have any carrots, so I added 2 stalks of celery instead. I used half a red pepper and half a green pepper. I also didn't have any ham, so I just added a little ham soup base. I did simmer it for a bit longer than the recipe called for just because I like my soup to be a little thicker. I mashed some of the beans up with my potato masher too. But the flavor was really good - I'm glad I don't have to search for a great black bean soup recipe anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The name of the recipe is right...it is fast and delicious.....this was so enjoyable....i know i can also enjoy this without the ham.....either way it would be great depending on diet needs.....i did like others and added the extra carrot and also made pop up dough and rolled it with cheddar inside....everyone enjoyed this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My modifications included red pepper instead of green, sea salt, 2 stalks celery, 2 carrots, lots more cumin, adobo and cayenne pepper. I also used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. It was great and hearty and thick. I omitted the ham, sour creeam and cheese because I am vegetarian, I think next tiem I will add tomatos for more of a chili feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States