Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was great! I changed it a little..added fresh cilantro, frozen corn, 1/2tsp of cumin, red bell pepper instead of green. It was tasty but needed a little kick, so after cooking I added some hot sauce. I think I'll cook some habenero hot sauce into the mix next time. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Delicious! My only modifications were using less oil to saute the vegetables (about 2 tsp.), leaving out the ham (I'm a vegetarian), and adding chili powder to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is the BEST Black Bean soup we have ever tried. I left out the ham (because I didn't have any on hand) and it was just as delicious without it! We serve it with cornbread, and a green salad. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was very good! I made it per the recipe but added 1/4 more tsp. I really enjoyed it and it tasted better than I anticipated from reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I'd give this soup a hundred stars if I could. I found this recipe on here and have been making it for years now. It's great, no changes necessary. Sometimes I make this using a pack of bacon - just chop it up and toss it in raw- and sometimes I use the cubed ham. Either way is excellent. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arsha

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galatic cannibal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Everyone loved this soup although my 3 year old was concerned about eating something that was black ;) I omitted the ham, didn't have any, but I don't think I would add it next time. I pureed an extra can of black beans and I used red instead of green bell pepper. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used 2 cans black beans & 1/2 can of refried pinto beans because it was still a little thin for my taste. No ham for us, and used cayenne & more cumin. Red bell pepper & red onions were a great addition. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
i found this to be a little thin although very tasty. not my favorite black bean soup recipe--i would have preferred at least another can of beans--it was weak in that area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a favorite of my 3 boys, husband (who hates soup) and myself. I used the exact ingredients, but added 1 extra can of beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes. I didnt puree, but allowed all the ingredients to simmer for an hour (after cooking the veggies) I serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States