Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Awesome! I only had 1 can of black beans, so used a can of black eyed peas, and used half a regular onion, sauteed with garlic. I also used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of 1.5. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this was great, just like several reviews said the color was hard to get over, but my husband and kids loved it after the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is very good just as it was written and I am rating it as such. I do variations for a vegetarian soup by leaving out meat, adding carrots, celery and more (vegetable) broth and cumin. I reserve half a can of beans and I blend it all together after cooking. Then I return it to the pot to reheat and then add the remainder of the beans and throw in some frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I liked it - Shem was underwhelmed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe has become a regular part of our family dining. My husband and kids all request this. Like others have suggested, I prefer an extra can of black beans, and use a large onion and bell pepper. Rather than blend the black beans before adding them to the soup, I wait until the soup has cooked, then use a hand emulsion blender to blend some of it right in the cookware. As an added benefit - my son doesn't like carrots and my daughter doesen't like green peppper...but when it's blended into the soup and the can't see it...they love it! :-) I also like to make this with cornbread, and we have begun crumbling the cornbread right into the soup. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Amazing soup. Took some of the suggestions posted here and increased the cumin to a half teaspoon and added lime juice. Also, because I'm a huge fan of spicy food, I substituted the green pepper for a jalapeno and added a dash or two of crushed red pepper. Didn't produce as much heat as I would have like, which is ok, since the other eating the meal seemed content with the level of spiciness. If I was to make it again, I may throw in an extra pepper. The meal tasted good, was filling, and is a great way to get in some protein and vegetables. This is likely going to be my go to recipe for when I want black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I changed a few ingredients to make this lower in salt and calories. I used two very large red peppers, one can of organic black beans and one can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes. Instead of ham, I used one package ground turkey that I browned and drained. After tasting it, I did add a couple more spices, like ground california chile pepper, oregano, coriander, a little more cumin, paprika and a little fresh lime juice. I also added one can organic tomato sauce. I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked it on low for most of the day and we all enjoyed this quite a bit. Very cost effective and very filling, with a side of low fat/low sugar cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My whole family loved this recipe (even my picky eaters). Because we have 5 kids, I doubled the recipe and added 2 chopped celery stalks and a cup of corn. I used turkey ham for a healthier meat. It was fantastic! I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This tasted wonderful. I made it exactly how the recipe is writen and i loved it. I frooze my extras and it tasted even better the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this without the ham and the carrots but it still came out really well. I didnt use the cheese or the sour cream either. It needed a little but more spice, next time I will add the adobo and more cumin per other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States